Skip to main content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Hitchcock a Finalist for Jack Adams

by Staff Writer / St. Louis Blues

ST. LOUIS – St. Louis Blues Head Coach Ken Hitchcock has been named a finalist for the Jack Adams Award by the National Hockey League (NHL).

The Jack Adams Award is given annually to the coach judged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

Hitchcock is a finalist with the New York Rangers' John Tortorella and Ottawa's Paul MacLean.

Former Blues head coaches to win the award include Joel Quenneville in 2000, Brian Sutter in 1991 and Red Berenson in 1981.

Hitchcock was named the 24th Head Coach in franchise history on November 6, 2011 and led the Blues to their first 100-point season (49-22-11, 109 pts) since 2001 as well as their first playoff series win since 2002. Hitchcock set a franchise record for the best 10-game start for a new Blues coach (7-1-2) and became the sixth different coach in club history to record over 40 wins in a season.

Hitchcock finished the regular season 13th all-time in games coached (1,110) and 11th in wins (576) while in playoff history he ranks 9th all-time in games (127) and 11th in wins (70).

Hitchcock is one of two remaining coaches (John Tortorella) in the 2011-12 Stanley Cup Playoffs to have won the Stanley Cup (Dallas, 1999).

View More