Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Halak, Elliott Capture Jennings Trophy

by Staff Writer / St. Louis Blues

Jaroslav Halak and Brian Elliott have combined to win their first William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the team allowing the fewest goals during the 2011-12 regular season.

Both goaltenders will be honored at the 2012 NHL Awards, which will be held Wednesday, June 20 at the Wynn Las Vegas.

Halak and Elliott sparkled on a St. Louis team that allowed the fewest goals in the NHL (165), capturing their first William Jennings Trophy and the second in Blues history (1999-2000, Roman Turek). The duo combined for a League-high 15 shutouts, tying a modern NHL record set by the Chicago Blackhawks in 1969-70 and surpassing the club mark of 13 set by Glenn Hall and Jacques Plante in 1968-69. Elliott (nine) and Halak (six) also are the first tandem in NHL history to record at least six shutouts apiece in the same season.

Halak ranked fifth in the NHL with a 1.97 goals-against average and posted a .926 save percentage. He won a career-high eight consecutive decisions, including six straight on the road, Feb. 23 – March 11.

Elliott led the NHL with a 1.56 goals-against average and .940 save percentage. He set franchise records with nine shutouts and a 241:33 shutout streak, also personal bests. His three consecutive shutouts March 22-27 equaled the franchise mark set by Greg Millen in 1988-89.

View More