Skip to main content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Brewer Selected To Team Canada at Worlds

by Staff Writer / St. Louis Blues
WINNIPEG – Hockey Canada, along with Team Canada general manager Steve Yzerman, has announced the first five players named to Canada’s roster for the 2007 IIHF World Men’s Hockey Championship, April 27-May 13, 2007 in Moscow, Russia.

The first five players named to Team Canada are:

Goaltender Dwayne Roloson Simcoe, ON Edmonton Oilers
Defenseman Eric Brewer Kamloops, BC St. Louis Blues
Forward Mike Cammalleri Richmond Hill, ON Los Angeles Kings
Forward Shane Doan Halkirk, AB Phoenix Coyotes
Forward Rick Nash Brampton, ON Columbus Blue Jackets

“I’m very happy with the group of players that we are naming today,” said Yzerman. “These players bring a wealth of leadership and experience, and we feel that this is an outstanding core group of players to start with.”

Yzerman, along with Team Canada head coach Andy Murray and the rest of Canada’s coaching staff, will be scouting and monitoring NHL games and the NHL playoffs in the coming weeks looking to name additional players to Canada’s roster.

Canada will open the 2007 IIHF World Men’s Championship in Moscow on April 28 versus Germany. Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster, TSN/RDS, will be broadcasting all of Canada’s games at the World Men’s Championship live across Canada.

Canada won consecutive gold medals in 2003 and 2004, followed by a silver medal in 2005. At the 2006 IIHF World Men’s Championship, Canada finished fourth after losing to the eventual gold-medal winning team from Sweden in the semi-finals.

For more information on Hockey Canada, and Canada’s 2007 IIHF World Men’s Hockey Championship team, visit

2008 IIHF Men’s World Championship in Canada - Canada will be hosting the IIHF World Men’s Championship, for the first time ever, in May 2008 in Halifax and Quebec City. For more information on the 2008 IIHF World Men’s Championship, go to

View More