Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

OHSAA Championships Set

by Staci Pawlak / Columbus Blue Jackets
The 2013 OHSAA district finals for ice hockey took place all across Ohio this past weekend, and the four district champions will compete for the state championship title next weekend at Nationwide Arena.

The Olentangy Liberty Patriots won the championship title for the Columbus district yesterday, defeating Dublin Jerome 4-3 in overtime in front of a crowd of 4,000 fans at the OhioHealth Ice Haus. They’re heading to the state playoffs for the second time in three seasons.

The Columbus district final wasn’t the only game that required extra time to determine a winner. Shaker Heights won the Kent district in the second overtime, defeating Hunting Valley University School by a final score of 2-1.

The Sylvania Northview won the Sylvania district after beating Toledo St. John’s 3-2 yesterday. Rocky River captured the Brooklyn district title with a 5-2 victory over Parma Heights Holy Name.

The state championship tournament is set for March 8-9 at Nationwide Arena. It opens with the two semifinal games on Friday, March 8 with Shaker Heights and Rocky River set to play at 1 p.m. immediately followed by Olentangy Liberty and Sylvania Northview at 4 p.m.

The championship game will be held on Saturday, March 9 at 7:00 p.m. after the Blue Jackets take on the Detroit Red Wings at 2 p.m.


Tickets are $10 for adults and $8 for students (Friday’s ticket is good for both semifinal games). All-weekend passes are $15 for adults and $11 for students. To order, call 1-800-745-3000, visit, or stop by the Big Lots Box Office at Nationwide Arena.


Time Warner Cable SportsChannel will televise both semifinal games live on Friday with Blue Jackets broadcasters Bill Davidge and Bob McElligott calling the action.

For the fifth straight year, Sports Time Ohio (STO) will televise the championship game to a statewide audience with a tape-delayed telecast on Sunday, March 10 at 4 p.m. Bob McElligott will be joined by John Mowat for the title game. For a complete STO channel listing, visit

View More