Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Nick Foligno Nominated For Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

Award is given annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey

by Staff @BlueJacketsNHL /

The Columbus chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association has nominated Blue Jackets forward Nick Foligno for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, the club announced today. The award is given annually to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. It's the third time that Foligno is the club's nominee for the award as he was previously recognized in 2013-14 and 2014-15.

Foligno, 31, has registered 16 goals and 15 assists for 31 points with 44 penalty minutes, a +6 plus/minus rating, 165 hits, 134 shots and has won 56.5 pct. of his face-offs, while averaging 17:54 of ice time in 68 games this season. He ranks second on the club in hits and face-off percentage. The club's captain, he scored the game-winning goal in his 800th career NHL game on Dec. 17 vs. the Vegas Golden Knights.  

The Buffalo, New York native has recorded 185-246-431 and 675 penalty minutes in 836 career NHL outings over 12-plus seasons with the Blue Jackets and Ottawa Senators. Acquired in a trade from Ottawa on July 1, 2012, he ranks third on CBJ's all-time list in goals and assists, fourth in points and seventh in games played with 124-159-283 in 485 career contests. He became the first player in NHL history to capture both the Mark Messier Leadership Award and King Clancy Memorial in the same season after posting 26-25-51 and 55 penalty minutes in 79 games in 2016-17. Foligno was originally drafted by the Senators in the first round, 28th overall, in the 2006 NHL Draft.

The winner of the Masterton Trophy is selected by a poll of the 31 chapters of the PHWA at the conclusion of the regular season. The trophy was first presented by the NHL writers in 1968 in honor of the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited the qualities for which the trophy embodies, and who died on Jan. 15, 1968. Last year's winner was Brian Boyle of the New Jersey Devils.

Previous Blue Jackets nominees for the award include: Kevin Dineen (2000-01 and 2001-02, finalist both years), Luke Richardson (2002-03), Manny Malhotra (2003-04), Duvie Westcott (2005-06), Fredrik Norrena (2006-07), Pascal Leclaire (2007-08), Raffi Torres (2008-09), Jared Boll (2009-10), Derek MacKenzie (2010-11), Curtis Sanford (2011-12), Vinny Prospal (2012-13), Foligno (2013-14 and 2014-15), Fedor Tyutin (2015-16), Sergei Bobrovsky (2016-17) and Zach Werenski (2017-18).

View More