Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

McConnell Education Foundation awards grants to 37 high school hockey teams

by Staff / Columbus Blue Jackets

COLUMBUS, OHIO – In keeping with its mission to support the development of youth and amateur hockey, the Columbus Blue Jackets announced that the McConnell Education Foundation will award grants tonight to 37 Columbus-area high school hockey programs for the 18th consecutive year.

The McConnell Education Foundation has offered philanthropic support for high school hockey in greater Columbus for the past 17 years with the cumulative donation reaching in excess of $1 million. Grants will support clubs from the Capital Hockey Conference and the Greater Columbus High School Club Hockey League.

This year’s recipients include high school varsity and junior varsity teams in the Capital Hockey Conference representing Bishop Watterson, Dublin Coffman, Dublin Jerome, Dublin Scioto, Gahanna Lincoln, New Albany, Olentangy, Olentangy Liberty, Olentangy Orange, St. Charles Preparatory School, St. Francis DeSales, Thomas Worthington, Upper Arlington and Worthington Kilbourne.

Additional varsity and JV programs in the Greater Columbus High School Club Hockey League receiving grants include the Athens Bobcats; the Columbus Ice Hockey Club (representing Columbus City Schools and Columbus Recreation and Parks Department); Gahanna; Hilliard Southwest; the Newark Generals; Northeast Storm (representing Bexley and Johnstown); Olentangy District Hockey Club; Prowler Hockey (representing Pickerington, Reynoldsburg, Pataskala, Canal Winchester) and the Westerville Warcats.

To recognize these programs, high school varsity captains representing the recipients will take the red line during the performance of the national anthem alongside the Blue Jackets and Minnesota Wild before tonight’s game.

View More