Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

McConnell Cup at Development Camp

by Staff Writer / Columbus Blue Jackets

Blue Jackets Development Camp will conclude on Sunday with the McConnell Cup. Five coaches, not including head coach Scott Arniel, drafted six players and a goalie with the exception of one team that has five players and a goalie.

The coaches who were involved in the Draft were: assistant coaches Brad Berry and Dan Hinote, goaltending coach Dave Rook, development coach Tyler Wright and strength and conditioning coach Kevin Collins. The first pick belonged to Hinote, followed by Wright, Collins, Rook and Berry. Team Hinote will wear green sweaters, Team Wright will wear light blue, Team Collins will wear navy blue, Team Rook will wear red and Team Berry will wear white.

The teams are:

Team Hinote
Team Wright
Team Collins
Team Rook
Team Berry
Johansen Savard Atkinson Calvert
Murovich Hansen Larkin Lynch Francis
Smith Collins Kubalik Sucharski Vogelhuber
Moore Blomqvist Archibald Delisle Kantor
Prout Ruth Straka Weber Goloubef
Neuber Gabriel Page Madaisky
Corbeil York Rawlings Ouellette Wesslau

To see the McConnell Cup rosters, click here (PDF).

To view the 2010 Development Camp Media Guide, click here (PDF).

Teams will take the ice at 11:45 a.m. in the Dispatch Ice Haus and after a 10-minute warm-up will begin round robin play (schedule below). The games will be formatted to have two cross ice games of four skaters plus one goalie vs. four skaters plus one goalie going on at the same time. Games will last six minutes (continuous clock).

Following the round robin, teams will be seeded and tournament play will begin. Following the conclusion of the tournament, all players will participate in a shootout.

Round Robin Schedule
Game 1 – Team Hinote vs. Team Wright
Game 2 – Team Collins vs. Team Rook
Game 3 – Team Hinote vs. Team Berry
Game 4 – Team Wright vs. Team Collins
Game 5 – Team Rook vs. Team Berry
Game 6 – Team Hinote vs. Team Collins
Game 7 – Team Wright vs. Team Rook
Game 8 – Team Collins vs. Team Berry
Game 9 – Team Hinote vs. Tem Rook
Game 10 – Team Wright vs. Team Berry

Playoff Format (3 skaters plus one goalie vs. 3 skaters plus one goalie)
Half-ice and two, three-minute periods
Game 1 - #4 seed vs. #5 seed
Game 2 - #1 seed vs. Game 1 winner
Game 3 - #2 seed vs. #3 seed
Game 4 – Championship Game – Winner of Game 2 vs. Winner of Game 3
In the event of a tie, the game will be decided in a sudden death shootout.

The McConnell Cup is free and open to the public.

View More