Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Leclaire Leads Goalies, Nash Doing Well in All-Star Voting

by Staff Writer / Columbus Blue Jackets

NEW YORK – Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings lead all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Lidstrom's 80,903 votes top the West, followed by Zetterberg with 58,074. Closing in for the third top spot is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 56,664 votes. The all-digital voting program, launched just six days ago, already has resulted in more than 2.15 million votes being cast.

Among Avalanche players, Joe Sakic ranks fourth among forwards, followed by Paul Stastny (7th), Ryan Smyth (18th) and Milan Hejduk (20th). Scott Hannan currently sits eighth among defenseman.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio). Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Zetterberg, Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (42,552) and Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk (39,041) lead all forwards in votes. Lidstrom and Phaneuf are the front-runners among defensemen. Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets tops all Western Conference goaltenders with 37,574 votes.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to "Vote Now, Vote Often" for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM. The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players. Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting. To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and


XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports

Western Conference (as of 11/19/07)


Player - NHL Club - Votes

Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 58,074

Jarome Iginla Calgary 42,552

Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 39,041

Joe Sakic Colorado 33,307

Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 32,650

Joe Thornton San Jose 28,117

Paul Stastny Colorado 25,408

Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 23,802

Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 20,546

Marian Gaborik Minnesota 20,539

Rick Nash Columbus 20,508

Jason Arnott Nashville 19,015

Mike Modano Dallas 17,753

Paul Kariya St. Louis 13,994

Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 13,203

Ales Hemsky Edmonton 11,122

Shane Doan Phoenix 10,787

Ryan Smyth Colorado 10,634

Martin Havlat Chicago 8,948

Milan Hejduk Colorado 8,832

Andy McDonald Anaheim 6,965

Brian Rolston Minnesota 6,774

Patrick Marleau San Jose 6,289

Daymond Langkow Calgary 6,175

Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 5,801

Markus Naslund Vancouver 5,796

Henrik Sedin Vancouver 5,075

*Patrick Kane Chicago 4,019

Daniel Sedin Vancouver 3,699

Brenden Morrow Dallas 3,568

David Legwand Nashville 2,279



Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 80,903

Dion Phaneuf Calgary 56,664

Chris Pronger Anaheim 41,046

Rob Blake Los Angeles 30,393

Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 22,954

Brian Rafalski Detroit 22,054

Sheldon Souray Edmonton 18,018

Scott Hannan Colorado 17,741

Sergei Zubov Dallas 16,082

Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 14,249

Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 12,479

Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 11,840

Robyn Regehr Calgary 7,382



Pascal Leclaire Columbus 37,574

Roberto Luongo Vancouver 34,050

Dominik Hasek Detroit 21,062

Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 19,756

Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 18,325

Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 17,026

Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 11,246

Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 8,592

Marty Turco Dallas 8,400

*write-in candidate

View More