SOCHI -- The disallowed goal heard around the world brought controversy into a game that already featured plenty of drama, intensity and emotion.
Russia thought it had taken a one-goal lead with 4:40 to play in the third period Saturday against the United States because Fedor Tyutin's deflected shot from the point sailed past American goalie Jonathan Quick and into the top right corner of the net. Referee Brad Meier immediately pointed at the net signifying that it was a goal.
However, the officials quickly got together to discuss the play. They went to video review for a closer look and, with the help of the television replays, determined the goal would not be allowed because the net was slightly dislodged on the right side.
The United States went on to win the game 3-2 in an eight-round shootout that featured four goals from T.J. Oshie.
Russia captain Pavel Datsyuk spoke to the officials after they made their ruling. Tyutin said Datsyuk gave word to the Russian bench that it was because the net was off its mooring. However, U.S. coach Dan Bylsma said he never received an explanation as to why the goal was disallowed.
According to the International Ice Hockey Federation rulebook, a goal is disallowed "if the net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice."
In regards to the disallowed goal Saturday, the IIHF stated: "Upon reviewing the goal, the net had clearly been displaced prior to the puck going into the net. ... The IIHF referee supervisor Konstantin Komissarov confirmed that the ruling made by referees Brad Meier and Markus Vinnerborg was the correct call and that the proper procedure had been followed with regards to the video review."
Several Russian players said they thought Quick was guilty of knocking the net off the right mooring when he pushed into it with his left pad while making a save.
In fact, Slava Voynov, who is Quick's teammate with the Los Angeles Kings, told Russian reporters he has seen the goalie intentionally dislodge the net in the past.
Washington Capitals star Alex Ovechkin said he thought Quick should have received a minor penalty.
"There are rules and everyone has to follow them," Russia forward Ilya Kovalchuk said. "It wasn't something very bad, and I hope we will get a chance to play them again."
Quick said he didn't know the net was dislodged during play.
"Not 'til after [the goal]," he said. "I looked at it and you could see it."
Russia coach Zinetula Bilyaletinov said he thought the officials made a mistake in disallowing the goal.
"The referees made a mistake, yes, but we need to prepare for the next match," Bilyaletinov said. "It's very sad that the referees didn't count it, but the referees looked at the video and made this decision. That means that's the way it was."
The U.S. clearly wasn't complaining.
"I'm still looking for the explanation," St. Louis Blues forward David Backes said. "I still don't know if it was a high stick or the net went off the mooring or God went in there and stopped it. I'm not sure."
Follow Dan Rosen on Twitter at: @drosennhl
Author: Dan Rosen | NHL.com Senior Writer