Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Columbus Blue Jackets to Participate in Annual NHL Prospects Tournament September 10-14 in Traverse City, Michigan

by Blue Jackets Staff / Columbus Blue Jackets

COLUMBUS, OHIO — The Columbus Blue Jackets will begin preparations for the 2011-12 National Hockey League Season on September 10-14 as 26 players will participate in the Annual NHL Prospect Tournament at the Center Ice Arena in Traverse City, Michigan. Participating players will undergo physicals and fitness testing beginning at 7 a.m. on Friday, September 9 at McConnell Heart Health Center before departing for Traverse City that day.

This year will mark the 11th-straight in which Columbus has participated in the event. The Blue Jackets won the tournament championship in 2006 and 2007. This year's participating clubs will be divided into the following: HOWE DIVISION – Columbus, Buffalo Sabres, Detroit Red Wings and Minnesota Wild and GRETZKY DIVISION – Carolina Hurricanes, Dallas Stars, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues. Practice sessions and tournament games will be held on the facility's two sheets of ice – David's Rink and Huntington Rink – located at 1544 Hammond Road, Traverse City, Michigan 49686 (Phone – 231-933-7465).

The Blue Jackets' schedule includes:

Saturday, Sept. 10
11:30 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. Practice (David's Rink)
7:30 p.m. VS. DETROIT (Huntington Rink)

Sunday, Sept. 11
9 to 9:45 a.m. Practice (Huntington Rink)
2:30 p.m. VS. BUFFALO (David's Rink)

Monday, Sept. 12
12:15 to 1:30 p.m. Practice (David's Rink)

Tuesday, Sept. 13
10:30 to 11:15 a.m. Practice (David's Rink)
6:30 p.m. VS. MINNESOTA (David's Rink)

Wednesday, Sept. 14
Game – Opponent, Time and Rink TBA

The Blue Jackets' rookie camp roster will feature 26 players, including 17 who were selected by the club via the NHL Entry Draft. Leading the group will be the Blue Jackets' top picks from the past three Entry Drafts, forwards Boone Jenner and Ryan Johansen and defenseman John Moore. Other drafted players include: 2011 Boone Jenner, Lukas Sedlak; 2010Brandon Archibald, Mathieu Corbeil, Johansen, Austin Madaisky, Dalton Prout, Dalton Smith, Petr Straka; 2009 Anton Blomqvist, Moore, David Savard; 2008 Cam Atkinson, Steven Delisle, Cody Goloubef, Tomas Kubalik; 2007 Allen York.


Columbus General Manager Scott Howson, Assistant General Manager Chris MacFarland, Director of Amateur Scouting and Development Coach Tyler Wright and Director of Amateur Scouting Paul Castron will lead members of the organization’s hockey operations staff who will also be on hand for portions of the tournament.

View More