Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Blue Jackets News

Columbus Blue Jackets Announce 2011-12 Regular Season Schedule

by Blue Jackets Staff / Columbus Blue Jackets

COLUMBUS, OHIO — The Columbus Blue Jackets and National Hockey League announced the 2011-12 regular season schedule today and the Blue Jackets will play their first game at Nationwide Arena on Friday, October 7 against the Nashville Predators in a matchup of Central Division rivals. Game time is set for 7 p.m.

The 2011-12 schedule features 41 home and 41 away games and spans 184 days, culminating on Saturday, April 7 at Nationwide Arena against the New York Islanders. Columbus will play 39 of its 82 games on Friday, Saturday or Sunday, including 18 of its 41 home games (Friday – 6; Saturday – 7; Sunday – 5). All home games are scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. except for the following: Sunday, Oct. 30 vs. Anaheim (6:30 p.m.), Sunday, Nov. 27 vs. St. Louis (6 p.m.), Sunday, Feb. 12 vs. Anaheim (6 p.m.), Saturday, Feb. 18 vs. Chicago (2 p.m.), Sunday, Mar. 11 vs. St. Louis (6 p.m.), Sunday, Mar. 25 vs. Edmonton (3 p.m.) and Wednesday, March 28 vs. Detroit (7:30 p.m.).

The Blue Jackets' schedule continues to emphasize division rivalries as the Blue Jackets will face off six times against Central Division opponents Chicago, Detroit, Nashville and St. Louis. The club will play three games against the 2010 Stanley Cup champion Blackhawks on Thursday, November 10, Saturday, February 18 and Tuesday, March 20. The defending division champion Red Wings visit Columbus on Tuesday, October 25; Tuesday, February 28 and Wednesday, March 28. Columbus again will play four games against non-divisional Western Conference opponents, including two home games vs. the Western Conference champion Vancouver Canucks on Monday, October 10 and Tuesday, December 13.

This season's schedule features 18 contests against Eastern Conference opponents. The Blue Jackets will play home-and-home sets vs. the reigning Stanley Cup champion Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres and Tampa Bay Lightning, while also hosting the Toronto Maple Leafs, New York Islanders and the five Southeast Division clubs. The Maple Leafs, one of hockey’s most storied franchises, pay just their fourth-ever visit to Nationwide Arena on Thursday, November 3, while the Stanley Cup champion Bruins visit on Saturday, December 10. The Sabres return to Columbus to take on the Blue Jackets the day after Thanksgiving on Friday, November 25 and Alex Ovechkin and the Washington Capitals ring in the New Year at Nationwide Arena on Saturday, December 31.

CLICK HERE FOR FULL SCHEDULE

The Blue Jackets also announced their eight-game preseason schedule, which will include home games vs. Winnipeg on Tuesday, September 20 (7 p.m.), Washington on Wednesday, September 21 (7 p.m.), Buffalo on Sunday, September 25 (5 p.m.) and the Minnesota Wild on Thursday, September 29 (7 p.m.).

Full and partial season ticket plans for the Blue Jackets’ 2011-12 season are on sale now starting at less than $15 per game. Plan holders receive significant savings versus single game prices, exclusive access to events with players and coaches and more. Flexible payment plan options are available. For more information, call (800) NHL-COLS or visit BlueJackets.com. Information regarding the sale of single game tickets for all home and pre-season games will be announced later this summer.

View More