Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

CBJ present Boone Jenner with 2019-20 Community MVP Award

by Blue Jackets Staff @BlueJacketsNHL /

2019-20 Community MVP

Boone Jenner is the 2019-20 Community MVP

Nick Foligno congratulates Boone Jenner as the 2019-20 CBJ Community MVP

  • 02:37 •

The Columbus Blue Jackets announced today that forward Boone Jenner has been named the recipient of the club's 2019-20 Community MVP Award, which recognizes the player who best exemplifies service, dedication and leadership. The Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation will donate $5,000 to the charity or charities of Jenner's choice in his name. He has elected to donate $3,000 back to the Blue Jackets Foundation, while donating $1,000 to the Janis Foligno Foundation and $1,000 to the Force Network Fund.

Jenner, along with teammate Seth Jones, teamed up throughout the 2019-20 season to provide a unique game night experience to Nationwide Children's Hospital families, offering a distraction from the challenging circumstances confronting them. The families received game tickets, food & beverage vouchers and specially designed CBJ hats, as well as the opportunity to meet both players after the game.

In addition, Jenner supported the partnership between the Blue Jackets and Nationwide Children's Hospital as the spokesman for the club's bike helmet safety program, which provides thousands of kids with bike helmets in fittings. He also donates his time to numerous Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation initiatives including visiting with patients at Nationwide Children's Hospital during the holidays.

Jenner has also given back to his community in his hometown of Dorchester, Ontario by hosting free hockey camps for boys and girls ages 10-11 during the summer.

The team has recognized a player for outstanding community service since the 2002-03 season. Past winners are: 2002-03 - Tyler Wright; 2003-04 - Luke Richardson; 2005-06 - Manny Malhotra; 2006-07 - Jody Shelley; 2007-08 - Dan Fritsche; 2008-09 - Rick Nash; 2009-10 - R.J. Umberger; 2010-11 - Jared Boll; 2011-12 - Marc Methot; 2012-13 - Derek MacKenzie; 2013-14 - Derek MacKenzie; 2014-15 - Nick Foligno; 2015-16 - David Clarkson; 2016-17 - Nick Foligno; 2017-18 - Sergei Bobrovsky; 2018-19 - Nick Foligno.

View More