Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Blue Jackets extend qualifying offers to restricted free agents

by Rob Mixer / Columbus Blue Jackets

According to the NHL's Collective Bargaining Agreement, the deadline to extend qualifying offers to Group 2 free agents (read: restricted free agents) is 5 p.m. ET on the first Monday following the draft.

In other words, that's today.

The Blue Jackets have qualified all but three of their restricted free agents, the team confirmed this afternoon. A breakdown of the financial range of qualifying offers can be found here.

By submitting qualifying offers before the deadline, the Blue Jackets ensure that they retain "first right of refusal" to those nine players. If the players accept their qualifying offers, they receive a one-year contract at the dollar amount of the qualifying offer; should they reject the qualifying offer, they are free to continue negotiating with the Blue Jackets, but the club retains their rights and they cannot speak to another team.

Columbus has qualified the following players: Cody Goloubef, Sean Collins, Dana Tyrell, Ryan Johansen, Matt Frattin, Corey Tropp, David Savard, Tim Erixon, Will Weber.

Anton Blomqvist, Jake Hansen and Oliver Gabriel were not extended qualifying offers and will become unrestricted free agents as of July 1.

View More