Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Toews named Frank. J. Selke Trophy finalist

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks
(Bill Smith / Chicago Blackhawks)

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2015 Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game, naming Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews, who won the award in 2013, as one of three players up for the award. Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins) and Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles Kings) were also named finalists.

Toews, 26, led the Blackhawks with 66 points and 28 goals and ranked second on the team with 38 assists in 81 regular-season games; he ranked fifth in the NHL with a career-best +30 plus/minus rating. He also ranked third on the Blackhawks with 45 takeaways and ranked sixth in the NHL, third in the Western Conference, winning 56.5 of his faceoffs this season. Toews ranked fourth in the league with 947 faceoff wins.

The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native was also a finalist for the award following the 2013-14 season after finishing third in voting and the 2010-11 campaign when he finished second in voting.

The Frank J. Selke Trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1977-78 season and previous Blackhawks to win the award include Troy Murray (1986), Dirk Graham (1991) and Toews (2013).

The winner of the 2015 Frank J. Selke Trophy will be announced during at the NHL Awards Show on June 24 in Las Vegas, Nev. The award is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More