Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Toews named Frank J. Selke Trophy finalist

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2014 Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game, naming Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews, who won the award last season, as one of three players up for the award. Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins) and Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles Kings) were also named finalists.

Toews, 25, ranked third on the Blackhawks with 68 points (28g, 40a) and ranked second on the team with a plus-26 rating in 76 regular-season games. He also ranked second on the Blackhawks with 51 takeaways and ranked fifth in the NHL, third in the Western Conference, winning 57.2 of his faceoffs this season. Toews ranked fifth in the League, second in the Western Conference, with 884 faceoff wins.

The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native was also a finalist for the award following the 2010-11 campaign after finishing the season second in the NHL with 93 takeaways and tied for 15th with a plus-25 rating. He finished second in voting that year.

The Frank J. Selke Trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1977-78 season and previous Blackhawks to win the award include Troy Murray (1986), Dirk Graham (1991) and Toews (2013).

The winner of the 2014 Frank J. Selke Trophy will be announced during at the NHL Awards Show on June 24 in Las Vegas, Nev. The award is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More