Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Toews named 2015 Mark Messier winner

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced tonight that Blackhawks forward Jonathan Toews has won the 2015 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, given annually to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season.

Toews, 27, led the Blackhawks with 66 points and 28 goals and ranked second on the team with 38 assists in 81 regular-season games. The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native also built upon his work in the community, where he actively participates in various team endeavors, including Make-A-Wish visits and the Four Feathers Golf Invitational. Independently, Toews served as the honorary chairperson for the Israel Idonije Fundraiser, which helps underserved communities by providing programs focused on social and emotional life skills; supported The Winnipeg Foundation in creating its Nourishing Potential campaign; and continued his role with Misericordia, a Chicago group that offers care for those with mild to profound developmental disabilities.

The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award was first awarded at the end of the 2006-07 season. Toews is the first player in franchise history to win the award. The winner of the 2015 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award is selected by Mark Messier alone at the end of the regular season.

View More