Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

The Friday Five: Rockford Calling

by Leah Hendrickson / Chicago Blackhawks

The Rockford IceHogs kicked off the 2012-13 season this week with training camp and the first game of their preseason schedule, a 3-2 shootout victory over the Milwaukee Admirals at BMO Harris Bank Center on Thursday night. With that in mind, The Blackhawks Blog brings you The Friday Five: Rockford Edition.

1. The Rockford IceHogs team name was selected by Rockford residents as part of a fan poll.

Belvidere, Ill., resident Breanna Roush submitted the name "IceHogs," which beat out other finalists—including Mighty Oaks, Ice Rangers, Ricochet, Rockets, Roughnecks and Rhinos—in the resident poll facilitated by the Rockford Register Star.

2. Dave Bolland was the first-ever IceHogs player to get recalled to the Blackhawks.

With two Blackhawks scratched due to injuries, Bolland made his NHL debut in Chicago on Oct. 25, 2006. He collected one shot on goal in 11:17 minutes of ice time in Chicago's tilt against Vancouver.

3. The IceHogs hold the American Hockey League record for most shootout wins in a single season (11).

In 2008-09, Rockford recorded a 11-6 record when the game was decided in a shootout. In that season, Corey Crawford posted a .917 save percentage, tied for the franchise single-season record (min. 25 games).

4. With three points in one playoff game, Bryan Bickell is tied for the most points in a playoff game in IceHogs history.

On May 3, 2008, Bickell scored one goal and collected two assists against the Wolves in Chicago in Game 2 of the 2008 Calder Cup Quarterfinals.

5. Corey Crawford holds the record for the most playoff appearances in IceHogs history (18).

The current Blackhawks netminder also holds the franchise record with 29 wins in one season (2007–08). That same year, he posted seven playoff victories, the most wins in one playoff season in IceHogs history.

View More