Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Teams set for NCAA Men's Frozen Four at United Center

by Chicago Blackhawks Media Relations /

The 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship semifinals, also known as the Men's Frozen Four, will be held at the United Center and feature Denver University, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Harvard University and the University of Notre Dame, which is also the host team. Harvard and Minnesota Duluth will face off at 5 p.m. CT on Thursday, April 6, at the United Center, followed by Denver and Notre Dame at 8:30 p.m. CT. Tickets are available for purchase at or by visiting the United Center box office.

The Chicago Blackhawks will have two draft picks competing in the tournament. Notre Dame defenseman Dennis Gilbert was a 2015 Draft selection (third round, 91st overall) and Denver defenseman Blake Hillman was a 2016 Draft selection (sixth round, 173rd overall). Additionally, seven players competing in the tournament are from Illinois: Notre Dame's Tory Dello (Crystal Lake), Jack Jenkins (Lake Bluff) and Bobby Nardella (Rosemont); Harvard's Adam Baughman (Chicago) and Michael Floodstrand (Hinsdale); and Denver's Erich Fear (Winnetka) and Greg Ogard (Wilmette).

This marks the first time the Frozen Four has been held at the United Center. The tournament will take place April 6 & 8, 2017. The Frozen Four is the culmination of the NCAA's 16-team tournament to determine the collegiate national champion. The tournament, which began in 1948, has branded its semi-final and final games as the Frozen Four since 1999. The single-elimination tournament was expanded to its current 16-team format in 2003.

View More