Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

RELEASE: Blackhawks hold two first round selections, eight overall picks

by Chicago Blackhawks Media Relations /

The Chicago Blackhawks hold eight total picks, including two first round selections (8th overall and 27th overall), in the 2018 National Hockey League Draft at American Airlines Arena in Dallas, this Friday and Saturday.

The Blackhawks will select twice in the first round for the first time since the 2011 NHL Draft when Chicago picked forwards Mark McNeill (18th overall) and Phillip Danault (26th overall). The No. 8 selection is the franchise's highest pick since the Blackhawks chose forward Patrick Kane from the London Knights of the Ontario Hockey League (OHL) with the 1st overall pick in the 2007 NHL Draft.

The Chicago Blackhawks have drafted eighth overall three times in franchise history, most recently in 1998 when they selected forward Mark Bell from the Ottawa 67's (OHL). The Blackhawks have also selected forward Jeremy Roenick (1988) and goaltender Jimmy Waite (1987) with the eighth overall pick. Other notable No. 8 picks throughout NHL history include defenseman Zach Werenski (2015), forward Sergei Samsonov (1997), defenseman Derian Hatcher (1990), forward Shayne Corson (1984), goaltender Grant Fuhr (1981), defenseman Ray Bourque (1979), forward Pierre Larouche (1974), forward Bob Gainey (1973), forward Darryl Sittler (1970) and defenseman Andre Dupont (1969).

The first round of the 2018 NHL Draft can be seen on NBC Sports Network, SportsNet and TVA Sports beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT on Friday, June 22. NHL Network and TVA Sports will pick up rounds 2-7 of the Draft on June 23 beginning at 10 a.m. CT.

Chicago Blackhawks 2018 NHL Draft Picks
Rd. Pick
1 8
1^ 27
3 69
3^^ 87
4^ 120
5* 142
6 162
7 193

^Both acquired from NSH on February 26, 2018, in exchange for forward Ryan Hartman.

^^Acquired from WSH on February 19, 2018, in exchange for defenseman Michal Kempny.

*Acquired from CBJ on June 23, 2017, in exchange for forwards Artemi Panarin and Tyler Motte.

View More