Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Quenneville named Jack Adams Award finalist

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Jack Adams Award, given annually to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success, naming Blackhawks head coach Joel Quenneville as one of three finalists for the award. Bruce Boudreau (Anaheim Ducks) and Paul MacLean (Ottawa Senators) were also named finalists.

Quenneville led the Blackhawks to an NHL-best 36-7-5 record and 77 points to capture the second Presidents’ Trophy in franchise history. With Quenneville at the helm, the Blackhawks began the season with points in an NHL-record 24 consecutive games (21-0-3) and finished the season with a .802 points percentage, which was good for fifth best in NHL history. The team’s 77 points set a league record for the most points in a 48-game season, topping the 1938-39 Boston Bruins (74 points).

The Windsor, Ontario, native also helped the Blackhawks set franchise records for most wins to start a season (6) and longest overall winning streak (11 from Feb. 15 to March 6).

Quenneville, who led the Blackhawks to the 2010 Stanley Cup championship and also served as an assistant coach with the 1996 Stanley Cup champion Colorado Avalanche, has won the Jack Adams Award once in his career; after leading the St. Louis Blues to a 51-19-12 record during the 1999-2000 campaign.

Only one Blackhawks head coach has previously been honored as a Jack Adams Award winner. Orval Tessier was named the NHL’s top coach in 1982-83 after guiding the team to a 47-23-10 record.

Quenneville is the fourth member of the Blackhawks to be named a finalist for one the NHL’s end-of-season awards this year, joining Patrick Kane (Lady Byng Memorial Trophy), Jonathan Toews (Frank J. Selke Trophy) and Brandon Saad (Calder Memorial Trophy). Additionally, goaltender Corey Crawford and Ray Emery were honored with the William M. Jennings Trophy, given annually to the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals during the regular season.

The winner of the 2013 Jack Adams Award will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final. The award is selected by a poll of the National Hockey League Broadcasters Association at the end of the regular season.

View More