Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Pirri tabbed as Rockford's All-Star selection

by Rockford IceHogs / Chicago Blackhawks

The American Hockey League announced on Wednesday that Rockford IceHogs center Brandon Pirri has been named to the 2012 AHL All-Star Game. The game will be played in Atlantic City, N.J. on Monday, Jan. 30, while the skills competition is slated for Sunday, Jan. 29.

Pirri, 21, is in his second season with the IceHogs and currently leads Rockford with 14 goals and 32 points in 31 games. The Toronto, Ont. native also leads Rockford with 11 multi-point games, six more than the next closest skater.

The Chicago Blackhawks second round pick (#59 overall) in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, Pirri has played four games with the Blackhawks this season, marking two assists.  The center also appeared in one game with the Blackhawks during his rookie season, making his professional debut with the club on Oct. 9, 2010 against Detroit.

During his rookie season with Rockford, Pirri finished with 12g-31a-43pts in 70 games in 2010-11.  Dating back to March 19, Pirri has skated in 43 games with the IceHogs and has totaled 18g-31a-49pts.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic Fan Balloting presented by Reebok will begin Thursday, Jan. 5, at noon ET on the official Web site of the AHL at and on the Official American Hockey League Fan Page at

Fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2012 AHL All-Star Game by visiting or and completing the official Reebok AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. By completing the official ballot, fans will also be entered to win a grand prize of a team-signed authentic 2012 AHL All-Star jersey. Five more winners will each receive a pair of tickets to the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition and All-Star Game, courtesy of Insurance Office of America.

On-line fan balloting at will end at noon ET on Monday, January 23, 2012.

Tickets for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic – which include admission to both the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 29, and the 2012 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 30 – are on sale now at the Boardwalk Hall box office, all Ticketmaster locations, by calling (800) 736-1420 or at Tickets are also available for the Post-Skills Party (January 29, 5:30 p.m.) and the 2012 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January  30, 11 a.m.) at Caesars Atlantic City.

The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. Of the 562 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Dan Boyle, Daniel Briere, Ryan Callahan, Brian Campbell, Zdeno Chara, Jimmy Howard, Miikka Kiprusoff, Ryan Miller, Zach Parise, Pekka Rinne, Bobby Ryan, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, P.K. Subban and Tomas Vokoun.

View the full AHL All-Star rosters here.

View More