Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Panarin named 2016 Calder Memorial Trophy winner as NHL Rookie of the Year

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced tonight at the NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas that Chicago Blackhawks forward Artemi Panarin was named the recipient of the 2016 Calder Memorial Trophy, given annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the NHL.

Panarin is the ninth Blackhawks player in team history to win the Calder Memorial Trophy, joining Patrick Kane (2008), Ed Belfour (1991), Steve Larmer (1983), Tony Esposito (1970), William Hay (1960), Ed Litzenberger (1955), Carl Dahlstrom (1938) and Mike Karakas (1936).

The Korkino, Russia, native led NHL rookies with 77 points, 30 goals and 47 assists in 80 regular-season games; he also shared ninth overall in the league in scoring. He paced first-year players with 24 power-play points (8G, 16A) and ranked third with 187 shots on goal. He ranked third among NHL rookie forwards with 18:31 of average ice time.

Panarin, 24, became just the fifth Blackhawks player to net 30 goals in his rookie year and the first to notch a regular-season hat trick since 2002. He was also the fourth-fastest active NHL player to reach 50 career points and the fastest active Blackhawk to do so. Panarin shared the team lead with seven points (2G, 5A) in seven 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs games. He was signed by the Blackhawks as a free agent on May 1, 2015.

From 1936-37 until his death in 1943, NHL President Frank Calder bought a trophy each year to be given permanently to the outstanding rookie. After Calder's death, the NHL presented the Calder Memorial Trophy in his memory and the trophy is to be kept in perpetuity. The award was selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More