Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Keith named James Norris Trophy finalist

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2014 James Norris Trophy, given annually to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-around ability at the position, naming Blackhawks defenseman Duncan Keith as one of three players up for the award. Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins) and Shea Weber (Nashville Predators) were also named finalists.

“It’s a huge honor to be nominated for the Norris Trophy” said Keith. “I wouldn’t be nominated without having great teammates and a great defense partner in Brent Seabrook. It’s a special feeling to be up for this award.”

Keith, 30, posted 61 points (6g, 55a) in 79 games this season, tying a career-high in assists and marking the second-highest point total of his NHL career. He ranked sixth in the NHL, first among defenseman, in assists and ranked second among League blueliners in points.

The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native captured the first Norris Trophy of his career following the 2009-10 campaign after posting a career-best 69 points (14g, 55a) in 82 games with the Blackhawks.

The James Norris Trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1953-54 season and previous Blackhawks to win the award include Pierre Pilote (1963, 1964, 1965), Doug Wilson (1982), Chris Chelios (1993, 1996) and Keith (2010).

The winner of the 2014 James Norris Trophy will be announced during at the NHL Awards Show on June 24 in Las Vegas, Nev. The award is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More