Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Kane wins 2016 Art Ross Trophy as NHL's top scorer

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today that Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane won the 2016 Art Ross Trophy as the league’s leading scorer, finishing the 2015-16 regular season with a career-high 106 points. This marks the first time in NHL history that a player born in the United States led the league in scoring. He is also the first to Blackhawks player to win the award since Stan Mikita captured his fourth Art Ross Trophy award in the 1967-68 season.

“It is an honor being the first American to win the scoring title as there have been so many great hockey players from the United States in the NHL,” said Kane. “I take a lot of pride in that, but I also take a lot of pride in doing it with the Chicago Blackhawks. I owe a lot to my teammates, coaches and the organization as I couldn’t have done this without them. This has been a special season, but we still have a lot to accomplish as a team and I look forward to another long run in the Stanley Cup Playoffs.”

The Buffalo native recorded career highs in goals (46) and assists (60) while skating in all 82 games of his ninth NHL season. Kane’s record-setting season included a franchise-best 26-game point streak (16G, 24A) from Oct. 17-Dec. 13. It was the longest streak by an American-born player, surpassing 18-game streaks by Eddie Olczyk (1989-90) and Phil Kessel (2008-09).

Kane, 27, also enjoyed a career-best seven-game goal streak from Nov. 2-15. The 2015-16 campaign saw Kane log 27 multi-point games and his first two regular-season hat tricks (Jan. 15 at TOR and April 3 vs. BOS). His 106 points are the most by a Blackhawks player since Jeremy Roenick scored 107 in 1993-94 and the 8th-most by a player in a season in franchise history.

"What a tremendous season for Patrick,” said Blackhawks Senior Vice President/General Manager Stan Bowman. “He started the season very strong and carried our team with his dominant play early allowing our team to stabilize and come together as a group throughout the season. Patrick kept pushing the pace all year long and led not only our team but the entire league which demonstrates how impressive his performance was from day one until game 82."

Before this season, three Blackhawks players were Art Ross Trophy winners: Mikita (1968, 1967, 1965, 1964), Bobby Hull (1966, 1962, 1960) and Roy Conacher (1949). Blackhawks players have now won the trophy nine times, tying the franchise with Montreal for second-most in history behind Pittsburgh (15 times). Max Bentley (1947, 1946) and Doug Bentley (1943) both won NHL scoring titles with the Blackhawks prior to the inception of the Art Ross Trophy, which was first awarded at the end of the 1947-48 season.

Kane, a three-time Stanley Cup champion, finished the 2015-16 regular season among Blackhawks franchise leaders in points (6th, 663), assists (6th, 412) and goals (T-10th, 251). The first-overall pick in the 2007 NHL Draft, he has played 658 career games, all with Chicago. In addition to being a five-time NHL All-Star, Kane won the 2013 Conn Smythe Trophy, the 2008 Calder Memorial Trophy and a silver medal with Team USA at the 2010 Winter Olympics.

The Blackhawks open the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the St. Louis Blues this week. A full schedule is to be announced.

View More