Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Kane named Lady Byng Memorial Trophy finalist

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, given to the player to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability, naming Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane as one of three players up for the award. Matt Moulson (New York Islanders) and Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning) were also named finalists.

Kane, 24, ranked fifth in the NHL with a team-high 55 points (23G, 32A) in 47 regular-season games this season. He ranked fifth in the NHL in goals and seventh in power play goals (8), while posting a plus-11 rating. The Buffalo, N.Y., native shared 13th in the league with a team-high 17 power play points (8G, 9A) and was one of two NHL players to register two separate point streaks of at least eight games. His eight penalty minutes were the lowest total among the NHL’s Top-20 scorers though.

The 5-11, 181-pound forward became the second Blackhawk in franchise history to reach the 50-point plateau in each of his first six seasons (Denis Savard) and notched his 400th career point on March 14 at Columbus. Kane shared sixth in the NHL with a team-high 15 multiple-point games, including five three-point games and three multiple-goal outings.

Previous Blackhawks to win the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy include: Doc Romnes (1936), Max Bentley (1943), Clint Smith (1944), Bill Mosienko (1945), Ken Wharram (1964), Bobby Hull (1965) and Stan Mikita (1967, 1968).

Kane is the third Blackhawk to be named a finalist for one the NHL’s end-of-season awards this year, joining teammates Jonathan Toews (Frank J. Selke Trophy) and Brandon Saad (Calder Memorial Trophy). Additionally, goaltender Corey Crawford and Ray Emery were honored with the William M. Jennings Trophy, given annually to the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals during the regular season.

The winner of the 2013 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final. The award is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More