Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Kane, Keith, Panarin named to 2016-17 NHL All-Star Teams

by NHL Media Relations /

LAS VEGAS (June 21, 2017) -- Center Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers, voted to his first career berth on the First All-Star Team, heads the list of players on the 2016-17 National Hockey League postseason All-Star Teams. McDavid, a double winner at the 2017 NHL Awards in receiving the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP and Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player as voted by the NHLPA, led the NHL in scoring with 100 points (30 goals, 70 assists) as the Oilers posted their best regular-season performance in 30 years.

Joining McDavid on the First Team are two other first-time members of the top echelon, defenseman Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks and left wing Brad Marchand of the Boston Bruins. Two members of the 2015-16 squad are repeat selections, right wing Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks and defenseman Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators, while goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets returns to the First Team for the first time since 2012-13.


Among those on the Second Team is Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, voted to a postseason All-Star berth for the seventh time (4 First Team, 3 Second Team).

Crosby joins three active players with at least seven berths on an NHL postseason All-Star Team: Alex Ovechkin (6 First Team, 3 Second Team), Jaromir Jagr (7 First Team, 1 Second Team) and Zdeno Chara (3 First Team, 4 Second Team).

Joining Crosby are five players making their first career appearance on the Second Team: right wing Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning, left wing Artemi Panarin of the Chicago Blackhawks, defensemen Victor Hedman of the Lightning and Duncan Keith of the Blackhawks, and goaltender Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the end of the regular season.

View More