Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Jonathan Toews wins 2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The National Hockey League announced today that Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews has been honored as the winner of the 2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins) and Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings) were also finalists for the award.

Toews, 25, ranked second on the Blackhawks with 48 points (23G, 25A) and ranked third in the NHL with a career-high plus-28 rating in 47 regular-season games. He also shared the league lead with 56 takeaways and ranked second in the NHL with a Western Conference-best 59.9 faceoff percentage.

The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native has recorded nine points (1G, 8A) in 17 Stanley Cup Playoff games and ranks second in the NHL with 16 takeaways during the postseason.

The 6-2, 208-pound center was also a finalist for the award following the 2010-11 campaign after finishing the season second in the NHL with 93 takeaways and tied for 15th with a plus-25 rating. He finished second in voting that year.

The Frank J. Selke Trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1977-78 season and previous Blackhawks to win the award include Troy Murray (1986) and Dirk Graham (1991). The winner is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

View More