Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Hayes, Boston College win national title

by Emerald Gao / Chicago Blackhawks

Photo by Getty Images

Is it officially a dynasty for Boston College? The Eagles have won three NCAA titles in the last five years: 2008, 2010 and now 2012. The top-ranked team in the nation steamrolled their way through this year’s edition, outscoring opponents 16-2 in four tournament games. BC finished their campaign with 19 consecutive victories dating back to Jan. 27.

Eagles center Kevin Hayes, Chicago’s first-round draft pick in 2010, now joins a growing list of title-winning BC alum in the organization, including his brother, Jimmy, who is about to try for postseason success with the Blackhawks, and Ben Smith, NCAA tournament hero in 2008 and 2010.

After a 6-1 romp over Minnesota in the semifinal round, BC’s opponent for the final was this season’s Cinderella story, Ferris State. The Bulldogs were playing in their first title game, but managed to hang tough through 40 minutes, holding the Eagles to a 2-1 lead entering the final frame.

BC gained a two-goal cushion after freshman Johnny Gaudreau scored with less than four minutes left in the game. Hayes picked up an assist on that goal, although Gaudreau did the fancy work, stickhandling his way through several Ferris State defenders before roofing home a wicked backhand shot. The Eagles got a second insurance goal late in the game and piled onto the ice in celebration when the final horn sounded.

Hayes finished his sophomore campaign with 28 points (7G, 21A) in 44 appearances, including a goal and two assists in four NCAA tournament games.

View More