Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Duncan Keith wins 2010 James Norris Memorial Trophy

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks
Blackhawks defenseman Duncan Keith has been selected as the winner of the Norris Trophy, given to the National Hockey League’s top blueliner, the League announced on Wednesday evening at the NHL Awards at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. Keith is the fourth different Chicago defenseman to win the award, and the first since 1996.

Keith, 26, established career-highs in goals (14), assists (55), and points (69) while skating in all 82 regular-season games for Chicago during the 2009-10 campaign. He led league defensemen in goals (10), assists (38), and points (48) at even-strength, and logged more ice time than any player in the NHL. The Blackhawks alternate captain tied a franchise record with 15 assists, and ranked second among NHL blueliners with 17 points, in 22 postseason games during the club’s Stanley Cup Championship run.

The Norris Trophy caps a year in which the Winnipeg, Manitoba native also won a Gold Medal with Team Canada at the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver. Keith ranked third in the tournament with six assists and fourth with a +6 plus/minus rating while leading Canada in ice time.

Keith is the fourth different Blackhawks defenseman to be honored with the Norris Trophy, joining three-time winner Pierre Pilote (1963, 1964, 1965), two-time winner Chris Chelios (1993, 1996), and Doug Wilson (1982).
View More