Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

BLOG: Blackhawks highlighted in ESPN All-Decade look back

Blackhawks 2010 Stanley Cup team named decade's best, five players recognized among league's top players over last 10 seasons

by Carter Baum @CarterBaum /

As the calendar nears 2020 - yes, 2020 - ESPN's Greg Wyshynski and Emily Kaplan took a look back at the best of the best over the last decade.

Needless to say, with three Stanley Cups in tow, the Blackhawks were a favorite in the 2010s. 

2010 Team Named Decade's Best

Over 10 years and 302 teams, none were better than the 2009-10 Blackhawks. 

The team that snapped a 49-year title drought for the franchise, but the team's impact on the league as a whole is still being felt almost 10 years later. On talent alone, members of the 2010 team continues to produce across the NHL, while many of the ones who have since retired were household names for much of the decade. Here's what ESPN had to say: 

The eventual decimation of this assemblage of talent is one of the true tragedies of the salary-cap era. Seriously, look at this roster: Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Patrick Sharp, Kris Versteeg, Troy Brouwer, Andrew Ladd, Dustin Byfuglien, Brent Seabrook, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Dave Bolland -- all of them under 28 years of age. Brian Campbell was 30. Marian Hossa was 31. Sure, Antti Niemi is a bit of a weak link in goal, but the team in front of him made that an afterthought in winning the Stanley Cup.

See the full countdown of the best, and worst, here.

All-Decade Awards

Across six trophies the ESPN crew awarded for the decade, Chicago was recognized in all but one with a winner and two runners-up named for each category. The only award the Blackhawks didn't have someone named to was the Vezina Trophy. 

With five representatives, Chicago far-and-away leads any other team. The Blue Jackets, Capitals, Islanders, Kings, Predators and Rangers followed suit, each with ties to just two award winners. 

Blackhawks All-Decade Awards:

  • Hart Trophy: Patrick Kane, runner-up
  • Norris Trophy: Duncan Keith, runner-up
  • Selke Trophy: Jonathan Toews, runner-up
  • Best Rookie Season: Artemi Panarin (2015-16), runner-up
  • Jack Adams Trophy: Joel Quenneville, runner-up

You can view the full ESPN All-Decade Award list here

    All-Decade Blackhawks Team

    As part of the decade celebration, ESPN also put together All-Decade teams for each of the 31 franchises, looking at the most defining player at each position over the last 10 years. 

    For the Blackhawks, it's a roster full of three-time Cup winners:

    • C: Jonathan Toews
    • LW: Patrick Sharp
    • RW: Patrick Kane
    • D: Duncan Keith
    • D: Brent Seabrook
    • Coach: Joel Quenneville
    View More