Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Blackhawks’ Panarin Wins Calder Trophy

by Staff Writer / Chicago Blackhawks

Chicago Blackhawks left wing Artemi Panarin has won the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Panarin received votes on all 150 ballots and was the top choice on 88 for 1,258 voting points, ahead of Shayne Gostisbehere of the Philadelphia Flyers (955) and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (858).

Panarin, who signed with the Blackhawks in May 2015, led all rookies in goals (30), assists (47), points (77), power-play goals (t-8), power-play points (24) and game-winning goals (7) while skating in 80 contests. He became the fourth rookie in franchise history to reach the 30-goal milestone and the first to do so since 1995-96 (Eric Daze). That included his first career hat trick Feb. 17 at NYR, the first by any Blackhawks rookie since 2002-03 (Tyler Arnason).

Panarin is the first Blackhawks player to win the Calder Trophy since linemate Patrick Kane in 2008.

2015-2016 Calder Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1. Artemi Panarin, CHI 1258 (88-41-16-3-2)

2. Shayne Gostisbehere, PHI 955 (33-53-42-12-8)

3. Connor McDavid, EDM 858 (25-45-48-15-8)

4. Jack Eichel, BUF 449 (2-9-25-72-25)

5. Dylan Larkin, DET 170 (1-0-8-23-51)

6. Max Domi, ARI 92 (0-2-2-12-32)

7. John Gibson, ANA 62 (0-0-5-9-10)

8. Colton Parayko, STL 52 (1-0-4-4-10)

9. Sam Reinhart, BUF 2 (0-0-0-0-2)

10. Anthony Duclair, ARI 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Jaccob Slavin, CAR 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Calder Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up

2016 Artemi Panarin, Chi. S. Gostisbehere, Phi.

2015 Aaron Ekblad, Fla. Mark Stone, Ott.

2014 Nathan MacKinnon, Col. Ondrej Palat, T.B.

2013 Jonathan Huberdeau, Fla. B. Gallagher, Mtl.

2012 Gabriel Landeskog, Col. R. Nugent-Hopkins, Edm.

2011 Jeff Skinner, Car. Logan Couture, S.J.

2010 Tyler Myers, Buf. Jimmy Howard, Det.

2009 Steve Mason, CBJ Bobby Ryan, Ana

2008 Patrick Kane, Chi. N. Backstrom, Wsh

2007 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Paul Stastny, Col.

2006 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2004 Andrew Raycroft, Bos. Michael Ryder, Mtl.

2003 Barret Jackman, St.L Henrik Zetterberg, Det.

2002 Dany Heatley, Atl. Ilya Kovalchuk, Atl.

2001 Evgeni Nabokov, S.J. Brad Richards, T.B.

2000 Scott Gomez, N.J. Brad Stuart, S.J.

1999 Chris Drury, Col. Marian Hossa, Ott.

1998 Sergei Samsonov, Bos. Mattias Ohlund, Van.

1997 Bryan Berard, NYI Jarome Iginla, Cgy.

1996 Daniel Alfredsson, Ott. Eric Daze, Chi.

1995 Peter Forsberg, Que. Jim Carey, Wsh.

1994 Martin Brodeur, N.J. Jason Arnott, Edm.

1993 Teemu Selanne, Wpg. Joe Juneau, Bos.

1992 Pavel Bure, Van. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

1991 Ed Belfour, Chi. Sergei Fedorov, Det.

1990 Sergei Makarov, Cgy. Mike Modano, Min.

View More