Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Blackhawks extend contracts of John Wiedeman and Troy Murray

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The Chicago Blackhawks have extended the contracts of radio broadcasters John Wiedeman and Troy Murray through the conclusion of the 2014-15 season on WGN Radio 720.

“We’re fortunate to have one of the premier broadcast tandems in all of professional sports delivering Blackhawks hockey to our fans,” said President/CEO John McDonough. “All season long John and Troy paint a vivid picture of our great game for listeners throughout the Midwest on WGN Radio 720, and around the world on”

The 2011-12 National Hockey League campaign will be Wiedeman and Murray’s sixth season together in the Blackhawks broadcast booth.  The duo received top honors in the “Sports Play-By-Play” category at the 2011 Illinois Broadcasters Association (IBA) Silver Dome Awards earlier this summer.

Wiedeman joined the Blackhawks for the 2006-07 season after serving as the radio play-by-play voice of the New York Islanders from 2001-0606. Prior to joining the Islanders broadcast team, he spent four seasons as the radio play-by-play voice and director of media relations for the Cincinnati Cyclones of the International Hockey League, also serving as a substitute broadcaster for the Tampa Bay Lightning and Columbus Blue Jackets. In 1996-97, he worked as the radio play-by-play broadcaster for the Philadelphia Flyers, a season in which the Flyers advanced to the Stanley Cup Final.

Murray is entering his 12th year as a member of the Blackhawks broadcast team and his eight season as the color analyst for the team’s radio broadcasts. Originally selected by Chicago in the third round (51st overall) of the 1980 NHL Entry Draft, he spent parts of 12 seasons with the organization (1981-91, 1992-94) and ranks 14th on the team’s all-time assists list (291), 15th all-time in points (488), 18th all-time in goals (197) and 19th all-time in games played (688). 

A native of Calgary, Alberta, Murray became the first player in Blackhawks history to capture the Frank J. Selke Award as the NHL’s Top Defensive Forward when he was honored in 1986. A five-time 20-goal scorer, Murray notched 584 points (230G, 354A) in 914 career regular-season tilts with the Blackhawks, Winnipeg Jets (1991-93), Ottawa Senators (1993-95), Pittsburgh Penguins (1995) and Colorado Avalanche (1995-96). He also registered 43 points (17G, 26A) in 113 career postseason contests, and captured the Stanley Cup with Colorado in 1996.
View More