Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Blackhawks announce 2016 Rookie Tournament roster

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The Chicago Blackhawks announced their roster for the 2016 Rookie Tournament today, which will take place at Centre ICE Arena in Traverse City, Mich., from Sept. 16-20. The team includes 23 players (14 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders), and will be coached by Rockford Head Coach Ted Dent and Assistant Coach Derek King.

Click here for the Blackhawks roster.

Blackhawks prospects will compete versus rookie teams from the Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Minnesota Wild, New York Rangers and St. Louis Blues. Teams are split into two divisions and will square off against each club within their division once during the round-robin before a crossover on the final day of the tournament, with the first-place finishers in each division meeting for the championship on Tuesday, Sept. 20.Chicago’s roster is highlighted by first-round draft choice Nick Schmaltz (2014, 20th overall), Illinois native Roy Radke (2015 sixth-round selection, 164th overall), in addition to 2016 draft picks Alex DeBrincat (second round, 39th overall) and Nathan Noel (fourth round, 113th overall). Chicago’s full roster is attached.

Tickets for the 2016 Rookie Tournament can be purchased at Centre Ice Arena or

View More