Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Vote Now, Vote Often

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
 NEW YORK (December 5, 2007) – The Detroit Red Wings have three of the four top spots among all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom holds onto the lead in the West for the consecutive week with 246,144 votes while forwards Henrik Zetterberg (175,270) and Pavel Datsyuk (134,661) are second and fourth, respectively. Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf continues to occupy the third spot with 170,477 votes. More than 6.48 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

Among Avalanche players, Joe Sakic ranks fourth among Western conference forwards, followed by Paul Stastny (9th), Ryan Smyth (17th) and Milan Hejduk (23rd). Scott Hannan ranks seventh among defensemen.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Rounding out the top 10 in votes are forward Jarome Iginla (124,337) of the Calgary Flames; goaltenders Roberto Luongo (121,008) of the Vancouver Canucks and Pascal Leclaire (116,747) of the Columbus Blue Jackets; defenseman Chris Pronger (109,755) of the Anaheim Ducks; and forwards Joe Sakic (98,026) of the Colorado Avalanche and Mike Cammalleri (94,187) of the Los Angeles Kings.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section  features  an  interactive  ballot,  showcasing  players with video clips,  photos  and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8  footage.   Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to  register  for  a  chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC  radios  with  three  months  of  free  service,  2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL  All-Star  Game  as  guests of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will  automatically  qualify  to  receive  a  14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

          XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference
(as of 12/3/07)
Player                                NHL Club             Votes
Henrik Zetterberg            Detroit                  175,270
Pavel Datsyuk                  Detroit                  134,661
Jarome Iginla                   Calgary                124,337
Joe Sakic                          Colorado              98,026
Mike Cammalleri             Los Angeles        94,187
Joe Thornton                    San Jose              77,960
Jonathan Cheechoo       San Jose              73,908
Rick Nash                         Columbus            69,242
Paul Stastny                     Colorado               68,761
Ryan Getzlaf                     Anaheim               68,384
Marian Gaborik                Minnesota            64,637
Jason Arnott                     Nashville              63,717
Mike Modano                   Dallas                    49,325
Paul Kariya                      St. Louis                41,236
Anze Kopitar                    Los Angeles         38,784
Shane Doan                   Phoenix                  36,926
Ryan Smyth                    Colorado                26,862
Markus Naslund            Vancouver              26,568
Ales Hemsky                  Edmonton              25,490
Martin Havlat                  Chicago                  23,424
Henrik Sedin                  Vancouver              23,055
Daniel Sedin                  Vancouver              22,240
Milan Hejduk                  Colorado                20,963
Andy McDonald              Anaheim                17,915
Patrick Marleau              San Jose               17,248
Keith Tkachuk                St. Louis                 16,563
Brian Rolston                 Minnesota             14,972
Daymond Langkow      Calgary                   14,443
*Patrick Kane                 Chicago                 11,418
Brenden Morrow            Dallas                    10,907
David Legwand             Nashville                6,723

Nicklas Lidstrom            Detroit                    246,144
Dion Phaneuf                  Calgary                  170,477
Chris Pronger                 Anaheim                109,755
Rob Blake                        Los Angeles         92,724
Francois Beauchemin   Anaheim               85,517
Brian Rafalski                  Detroit                   66,336
Scott Hannan                  Colorado               51,051
Sheldon Souray              Edmonton             48,975
Sergei Zubov                   Dallas                    47,344
Ed Jovanovski                 Phoenix                 46,262
Mattias Ohlund                Vancouver            43,297
Lubomir Visnovsky         Los Angeles        31,279
Robyn Regehr                 Calgary                 19,293

Roberto Luongo                  Vancouver          121,008
Pascal Leclaire                   Columbus          116,747
Dominik Hasek                   Detroit                 58,907
Jean-Sebastien Giguere   Anaheim            56,923
Niklas Backstrom               Minnesota          47,727
Miikka Kiprusoff                   Calgary               44,711
Evgeni Nabokov                  San Jose            28,876
Nikolai Khabibulin              Chicago              27,078
Marty Turco                           Dallas                 23,114

*write-in candidate
View More