Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Three Former Avs To Be Inducted Into Hockey Hall of Fame

Dave Andreychuk, Paul Kariya and Teemu Selanne will be enshrined in November

by Erin Hodges & Matt Shwayder /

On Monday, the Hockey Hall of Fame announced the seven members of its 2017 class, three of which are former members of the Colorado Avalanche. Forwards Dave Andreychuk, Paul Kariya and Teemu Selanne headlined the group.

Andreychuk came to the Avalanche from the Boston Bruins in the infamous Ray Bourque trade during the 1999-00 season. That year, he played 14 games with Colorado and recorded three points (one goal, two assists) on the team's run to the Western Conference Finals. He added five points (three goals and two assists) during that postseason for the Avs. In 21 NHL campaigns and 1,639 games, Andreychuk totaled 1,338 points with 640 goals and 698 assists. He captained the 2004 Tampa Bay Lightning to a Stanley Cup title. After nine years of eligibility, he is now among the best in hockey.

"When I look back I always think of hockey as a team game, and it was never about me," said Andreychuk in a news release from the Hockey Hall of Fame. "As a player it is how we are taught and that makes this individual award even more unique."

Kariya played 51 games for Colorado during the 2003-04 season, tallying 36 points (11 goals, 25 assists). Playing 15 years in the NHL, he racked up 989 points with 402 goals and 587 assists.

"I have to thank all of the countless people in my life who helped me get here," Kariya said. "My parents sacrificed so that I could play the game, and I wouldn't be receiving this honor if it wasn't for them."

Selanne played for the Avs and with Kariya during the 2003-04 season, registering 32 points (16 goals, 16 assists) in 78 games. He helped the team reach the Western Conference Semifinals that year before it fell to the San Jose Sharks in six games. Over his 21-season NHL career, Selanne put up 1,457 points (684 goals, 773 assists). Selanne won his one and only Stanley Cup in 2007 with the Anaheim Ducks. This was his first year of eligibility for the Hockey Hall of Fame.

"I'm lucky to have played with great people wherever I went in hockey," Selanne said. "The game is a team effort and I have a long list of those who helped me."

Other members of the 2017 class include three-time Stanley Cup champion Mark Recchi, college hockey coach Clare Drake, retired Canadian women's player Danielle Goyette and Boston Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs.

The Hockey Hall of Fame was established in 1943 and has a mandate to "recognize and honor the achievements of players, builders and officials who bring special distinction to the game of hockey, and to collect, preserve, research and exhibit objects, images and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world."

The 2017 induction ceremony will be held on Monday, Nov. 13, in Toronto. 

View More