Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Sakic Ranks Fourth, Stastny Seventh in Balloting

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
NEW YORK – Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings lead all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports.  Lidstrom’s 80,903 votes top the West, followed by Zetterberg with 58,074.  Closing in for the third top spot is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 56,664 votes. The all-digital voting program, launched just six days ago, already has resulted in more than 2.15 million votes being cast.

Among Avalanche players, Joe Sakic ranks fourth among forwards, followed by Paul Stastny (7th), Ryan Smyth (18th) and Milan Hejduk (20th). Scott Hannan currently sits eighth among defenseman.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Zetterberg, Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (42,552) and Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk (39,041) lead all forwards in votes. Lidstrom and Phaneuf are the front-runners among defensemen. Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets tops all Western Conference goaltenders with 37,574 votes.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference
(as of 11/19/07)
Player                                           NHL Club               Votes
Henrik Zetterberg                       Detroit                     58,074
Jarome Iginla                             Calgary                    42,552
Pavel Datsyuk                             Detroit                     39,041
Joe Sakic                                     Colorado                33,307
Mike Cammalleri                        Los Angeles          32,650
Joe Thornton                               San Jose                28,117
Paul Stastny                                Colorado                 25,408
Jonathan Cheechoo                  San Jose                23,802
Ryan Getzlaf                                Anaheim                 20,546
Marian Gaborik                           Minnesota               20,539
Rick Nash                                   Columbus               20,508
Jason Arnott                                Nashville                 19,015
Mike Modano                               Dallas                      17,753
Paul Kariya                                  St. Louis                  13,994
Anze Kopitar                                Los Angeles           13,203
Ales Hemsky                               Edmonton               11,122
Shane Doan                                Phoenix                   10,787
Ryan Smyth                                 Colorado                 10,634
Martin Havlat                               Chicago                    8,948
Milan Hejduk                               Colorado                  8,832
Andy McDonald                           Anaheim                   6,965
Brian Rolston                              Minnesota                6,774
Patrick Marleau                           San Jose                  6,289
Daymond Langkow                    Calgary                     6,175
Keith Tkachuk                              St. Louis                   5,801
Markus Naslund                          Vancouver               5,796
Henrik Sedin                                Vancouver                5,075
*Patrick Kane                               Chicago                    4,019
Daniel Sedin                                Vancouver                3,699
Brenden Morrow                          Dallas                       3,568
David Legwand                            Nashville                  2,279

Nicklas Lidstrom                        Detroit                       80,903
Dion Phaneuf                              Calgary                     56,664
Chris Pronger                              Anaheim                  41,046
Rob Blake                                     Los Angeles           30,393
Francois Beauchemin               Anaheim                  22,954
Brian Rafalski                              Detroit                      22,054
Sheldon Souray                           Edmonton               18,018
Scott Hannan                               Colorado                 17,741
Sergei Zubov                                Dallas                      16,082
Ed Jovanovski                              Phoenix                   14,249
Lubomir Visnovsky                      Los Angeles           12,479
Mattias Ohlund                             Vancouver               11,840
Robyn Regehr                              Calgary                    7,382

Pascal Leclaire                           Columbus               37,574
Roberto Luongo                          Vancouver               34,050
Dominik Hasek                            Detroit                     21,062
Niklas Backstrom                        Minnesota              19,756
Jean-Sebastien Giguere            Anaheim                18,325
Miikka Kiprusoff                            Calgary                   17,026
Evgeni Nabokov                           San Jose                11,246
Nikolai Khabibulin                       Chicago                  8,592
Marty Turco                                    Dallas                     8,400
*write-in candidate
View More