Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Roy Wins Jack Adams Trophy

by Colorado Avalanche / Colorado Avalanche

The National Hockey League announced this evening that Colorado Avalanche head coach Patrick Roy has been named the recipient of the 2014 Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s coach of the year.

Roy received 399 votes, besting Detroit’s Mike Babcock (163) and Tampa Bay’s Jon Cooper (136). The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to “the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success.” The winner is selected in a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season. The announcement came tonight during the 2014 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Roy, 48, is the first coach in Avalanche history (since 1995-96) to win the Jack Adams Award. He is the second coach in franchise history to receive the honor, as Marc Crawford won it with Quebec in 1994-95.

Roy guided the Avalanche to a 52-22-8 record (.683) and the Central Division title in his rookie season behind the bench. He helped Colorado match its franchise record for wins and post its second-highest point total ever (112). Roy’s Avalanche also set a franchise mark with 26 road wins en route to compiling the best road record in the NHL at 26-11-4 (.683). Colorado, which finished 29th in the league standings a year ago, became the first club since the NHL expanded to 21 teams in 1979 to go from the bottom three to the top three in a single season.

Roy is just the fifth coach in NHL history to win 50 games in his first season behind the bench, joining Tom Johnson with the 1970-71 Bruins (57-14-7), Mike Keenan with the 1984-85 Flyers (53-20-7), Pat Burns with the 1988-89 Canadiens (53-18-9) and Todd McLellan with the 2008-09 Sharks (53-18-11). Roy led the Avalanche to a 6-0-0 start, tying the NHL record for consecutive wins by a head coach to begin his career (Mario Tremblay with Montreal in 1995-96), and he was the first coach in NHL history to win 14 of his first 16 career games (14-2-0).

The Hall of Fame goaltender was named Head Coach / Vice President of Hockey Operations on May 23, 2013. He is the sixth head coach in Avalanche history and the 14th in franchise history.

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)
1. Patrick Roy, COL 399 (68-19-2)
2. Mike Babcock, DET 163 (11-31-15)
3. Jon Cooper, TB 136 (5-29-24)
4. Claude Julien, BOS 68 (6-8-14)
5. Bruce Boudreau, ANA 24 (1-4-7)
6. Craig Berube, PHI 23 (1-4-6)
7. Ken Hitchcock, STL 14 (2-0-4)
8. Todd Richards, CBJ 6 (0-0-6)
9. Joel Quenneville, CHI 5 (1-0-0)
10. Lindy Ruff, DAL 5 (0-0-5)
11. Dan Bylsma, PIT 4 (0-0-4)
Todd McLellan, SJ 4 (0-0-4)
13. Mike Yeo, MIN 2 (0-0-2)
14. Michel Therrien, MTL 1 (0-0-1)
Barry Trotz, NSH 1 (0-0-1)

View More