Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

NHL All-Star, All-Rookie Teams

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
VANCOUVER (June 22, 2006) -- Washington Capitals left wing Alexander Ovechkin became the first rookie since Chicago's Ed Belfour in 1990-91 to earn First Team honors as the NHL's 2005-06 All-Star Teams were announced this evening at the 2006 NHL Awards in Vancouver.

Joining Ovechkin are New York Rangers right wing Jaromir Jagr and Detroit Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom, who earned their seventh career berths on the First Team; goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff of the Calgary Flames and center Joe Thornton of the San Jose Sharks, each of whom earned his first selection to the First Team; and Scott Niedermayer of the Anaheim Ducks, voted to a First Team berth for the second consecutive time.

The Second Team features four players making debuts on an NHL All-Star Team, center Eric Staal of the Carolina Hurricanes, right wing Daniel Alfredsson and left wing Dany Heatley of the Ottawa Senators and defenseman Sergei Zubov of the Dallas Stars. They are joined by New Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur, who is making his third appearance on the Second Team to go with two previous First Team selections, and Senators defenseman Zdeno Chara, who earned his first career Second Team berth to go with one previous First Team selection.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

2005-2006 NHL First All-Star Team

G Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames
D Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
D Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks
C Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks
RW Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers
LW Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

2005-2006 NHL Second All-Star Team

G Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
D Zdeno Chara, Ottawa Senators
D Sergei Zubov, Dallas Stars
C Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes
RW Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators
LW Dany Heatley, Ottawa Senators


VANCOUVER (June 22, 2006) -- Goaltender Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, defensemen Dion Phaneuf of the Calgary Flames and Andrej Meszaros of the Ottawa Senators, and forwards Brad Boyes of the Boston Bruins, Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals have been voted to the 2005-2006 NHL All-Rookie Team, the League announced today. Voting was conducted by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the conclusion of the regular season.

To qualify for rookie status, a player cannot have played more than 25 games in any single preceding season nor in six or more games (in any major professional league) in any two preceding seasons. A player also must not have reached his 26th birthday by September 15 of the season in which he is eligible. Rookie team voting selects one goaltender, two defensemen and three forwards. The results are tabulated by the accounting firm Ernst & Young.

2005-2006 NHL All-Rookie Team

G Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
D Andrej Meszaros, Ottawa Senators
D Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames
F Brad Boyes, Boston Bruins
F Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
F Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

View More