Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Hensick Finalist For CCHA Player Of The Year

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. - Michigan senior forward T.J. Hensick, Northern Michigan junior forward Mike Santorelli and Notre Dame senior goaltender David Brown are the three finalists for the RBC Finanical Group CCHA Player of the Year award.

Hensick, who was a finalist for the award in 2005, leads the CCHA in conference and overall scoring while placing second in the nation with 56 points in 36 games. The Colorado Avalanche draft pick also leads the NCAA in assists with 39.Four years ago, Brown and Hensick were both finalists for the CCHA Rookie of the Year award, which Hensick won.

The award will be presented on Thursday, March 15 at the historic Fox Theatre in downtown Detroit.

Hensick was also named to his third Central Collegiate Hockey Association First Team All-Conference squad, making him one of only eight players in conference history to earn such recognition.

Hensick became the third CCHA player and first forward to earn either First or Second Team honors in each of his four years in college, joining former St. Louis defenseman Kent Jackson (1975-78) and former Bowling Green defenseman Ken Morrow (1976-79).

Hensick, who led the CCHA in conference scoring with 42 points in 28 games, is joined by two Michigan teammates, sophomore defenseman Jack Johnson and senior defenseman Matt Hunwick, on the First Team. Johnson received 10 first-place votes, the most of any player on the ballot, while Hunwick made the CCHA First Team All-Conference squad for the first time after receving Second Team honors in his sophomore and junior years. Northern Michigan junior forward Mike Santorelli, the CCHA's leader in regular-season goals with 23, and Notre Dame senior goaltender David Brown, whose 25 wins set an Irish school record, were also selected to the First Team.
View More