Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Foote Named Captain

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
 The Colorado Avalanche Hockey Club announced today that defenseman Adam Foote has been named team captain for the 2009-10 season. 

In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!

“I’m honored to be named Avalanche captain,” said Foote. “I’ve been with this franchise for the majority of my career and I know what the standards are here. I look forward to the challenge of leading this team, starting with training camp and heading into the regular season.”

Foote will become only the second captain in Avalanche history, joining Joe Sakic. Overall, Foote is just the ninth different captain in the franchise’s 30-year history in the National Hockey League.

“We feel Adam’s leadership skills and veteran presence will make him a great captain,” said Avalanche Head Coach Joe Sacco.  “He has been with this organization for a long time and he truly deserves our trust to lead this team at the present time.”
Foote, 38, is entering his 18th season in the NHL, his 16th with the Avalanche/Nordiques franchise.  He was a member of Colorado’s 1996 and 2001 Stanley Cup championship teams.  Originally selected in the second round (22nd overall) of the 1989 Entry Draft, Foote has appeared in more regular season (853) and playoff games (164) than any other defenseman in franchise history.  The Toronto native has skated in 1,040 career games in the NHL, recording 291 points (66g/225a) and 1,437 penalty minutes.

The Avalanche also announced today that forwards Milan Hejduk and Paul Stastny will serve as assistant captains for the upcoming season.


    Player                                             Years                      
    Marc Tardif                                    1979-80 to 1980-81
    Robbie Ftorek, Andre Dupont   1981-82
    Mario Marois                                 1982-83 to 1984-85
    Mario Marois, Peter Stastny       1985-86
    Peter Stastny                                1986-87 to 1989-90
    Joe Sakic, Steven Finn               1990-91
    Mike Hough                                  1991-92
    Joe Sakic                                      1992-93 to 2008-09
    Adam Foote                                  2009-10
View More