Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Avalanche Signs Desjardins, Brophey

by Staff Writer / Colorado Avalanche
The Colorado Avalanche Hockey Club announced today that the team has signed goaltender Cedrick Desjardins and forward Evan Brophey each to a one-year contract for the 2011-12 season.

Desjardins, 25, made his NHL debut in 2010-11, appearing in two games for the Tampa Bay Lightning.  He won both of his starts, allowing just one goal in each game (1.00 goals-against average, .968 save percentage).  The Edmundston, New Brunswick native spent most of the year with Tampa Bay’s American Hockey League affiliate, the Norfolk Admirals, where he posted a 15-6-1 record with a 2.59 GAA and .905 Sv% in 24 appearances.

Signed by Montreal as a non-drafted free agent, Desjardins was named to the 2009-10 AHL Second All-Star Team after leading the league with a 2.00 goals-against average in 47 games for the Hamilton Bulldogs.  In 2007-08, Desjardins led the ECHL’s Cincinnati Cyclones to the Kelly Cup title, and was named ECHL playoff MVP.  Prior to turning pro, Desjardins spent four seasons in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.  He finished his junior career by backstopping the Quebec Remparts to the 2006 Memorial Cup, earning the Hap Emms Trophy as the tournament’s most valuable goaltender.

Brophey, 24, also made his NHL debut in 2010-11, playing one game for the Chicago Blackhawks on Oct. 23 against Columbus.  He spent most of the year with the Rockford IceDogs (AHL), collecting 19 points (10g/9a) and 65 penalty minutes in 67 games.  Chicago’s fourth selection (third round, 68th overall) in the 2005 Entry Draft, the Kitchener, Ontario native has spent the last four seasons with Rockford.  The 6-foot-2, 199-pound forward tallied 107 points (36g/71a) in 68 games with the Plymouth Whalers (OHL) during his final season of junior hockey in 2006-07.

In addition, the Avalanche formally announced today that the club has agreed to terms with defenseman David Liffiton, along with forwards Greg Mauldin, Justin Mercier, Ryan Stoa and David Van Der Gulik each to one-year contracts.
View More