Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Avalanche Announces 20th Anniversary Team

by - Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche / Colorado Avalanche

As part of the Colorado Avalanche's 20th Anniversary Season presented by Avaya and Arrow Electronics, the club is excited to announce the 20th Anniversary Team as selected by the fans. Voting on the top 20 Avs players from the past 20 years has taken place over the last month with the following criteria:

• They have had their jersey number retired (Sakic 19; Forsberg 21; Roy 33; Foote 52; Bourque 77);

• They are a forward or defenseman who played at least 246 regular-season games in an Avalanche sweater (equivalent of three full seasons);

• They are a goaltender who played a minimum of 75 regular-season games in an Avalanche sweater

A total of 12 forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders have been named to the 20th Anniversary Team.

Former president and general manager Pierre Lacroix, the architect of Colorado's two Stanley Cup-winning teams, is also a part of the 20th Anniversary Team.

Below are the 20 members:


Matt Duchene #9

Valeri Kamensky #13

Adam Deadmarsh #18

Joe Sakic #19

Peter Forsberg #21

Claude Lemieux #22

Milan Hejduk #23

Stephane Yelle #26

Paul Stastny #26

Chris Drury #37

Alex Tanguay #40

Gabriel Landeskog #92


Rob Blake #4

John-Michael Liles #4

Erik Johnson #6

Sandis Ozolinsh #8

Adam Foote #52

Ray Bourque #77


Semyon Varlamov #1

Patrick Roy #33

Lacroix and the 20 players will be honored in a special on-ice ceremony before Colorado's contest against the Minnesota Wild on Dec. 7. Select members, including Milan Hejduk, Adam Foote, Ray Bourque, Rob Blake, Sandis Ozolinsh, Valeri Kamensky, Joe Sakic, Patrick Roy and Peter Forsberg, will be in attendance. 

Call 303-4AVS-NHL For Tickets Purchase Tickets Online

View More