Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Avalanche Announces Roster for 2020 Postseason

Colorado's 31 player roster includes 17 forwards, 11 defensemen and three goaltenders

by Colorado Avalanche @Avalanche /

The Colorado Avalanche announced on Sunday its roster that will travel to Edmonton, Alberta, for the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Each team participating in the Stanley Cup Qualifiers is permitted to bring up to 52 individuals into the secure zones in the hub cities, including a maximum of 31 players. The Avs' roster features 17 forwards, 11 defensemen and three goaltenders.

All of the players on the roster appeared in at least one game for the Avalanche during the 2019-20 regular-season, with the exception of forward Shane Bowers and defenseman Bowen Byram. Bowers skated in his first professional campaign with the American Hockey League's Colorado Eagles this year and recorded 27 points (10 goals, 17 assists) in 48 outings. Byram, the Avalanche's first-round selection (No. 4 overall) in the 2019 NHL Draft, played with the Vancouver Giants of the Western Hockey League in 2019-20, registering 52 points (14 goals, 38 assists) in 50 outings and earning a gold medal with Team Canada at the 2020 IIHF World Junior Championship.

In addition to Bowers, forwards Sheldon Dries, Logan O'Connor and T.J. Tynan and defensemen Kevin Connauton, Anton Lindholm and Conor Timmins are the six other skaters on the Avalanche roster that spent significant time with the Eagles in 2019-20.

All of the club personnel traveling to Edmonton will live inside a so-called "bubble"--the Phase 4 Secure Zone--and will be tested daily for COVID-19 and be administered daily temperature checks and symptom screenings.

Colorado will face the Minnesota Wild on Wednesday at 12:30 p.m. MT in an exhibition contest before playing its first Stanley Cup Qualifiers game against the division-rival St. Louis Blues at 4:30 p.m. MT on Aug. 2 at Rogers Place.

The Avs will also play the Dallas Stars on Aug. 5 at 4:30 p.m. MT and the Vegas Golden Knights on Aug. 8 in the round-robin portion of the qualifier to determine the top four seeds in the Western Conference for the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Below is the Avalanche's roster that will travel to Edmonton for the 2020 postseason.

PDF: Roster

Avalanche 2020 Postseason Roster

As of July 26, 2020

31 Philipp Grubauer G
35 Michael Hutchinson G
39 Pavel Francouz G
6 Erik Johnson D
7 Kevin Connauton D
8 Cale Makar D
11 Matt Calvert LW
13 Valeri Nichushkin RW
14 Shane Bowers C
15 Sheldon Dries C
16 Nikita Zadorov D
17 Tyson Jost C
20 Conor Timmins D
25 Logan O'Connor RW
27 Ryan Graves D
28 Ian Cole D
29 Nathan MacKinnon C
36 T.J. Tynan C
37 J.T. Compher LW
41 Pierre-Edouard Bellemare C
44 Mark Barberio D
45 Bowen Byram D
49 Samuel Girard D
54 Anton Lindholm D
72 Joonas Donskoi RW
83 Matt Nieto LW
90 Vladislav Namestnikov C
91 Nazem Kadri C
92 Gabriel Landeskog LW
95 Andre Burakovsky LW
96 Mikko Rantanen RW
No. Name Pos.
View More