2009 Honda/NHL SuperSkills Results
Back to SuperSkills competition


 1) Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater

 2) Scotiabank NHL Fan Fav Breakaway Challenge

 3) Upper Deck YoungStars Game

 4) McDonald’s Accuracy Shooting

 5) Cisco Hardest Shot

 6) Gatorade NHL Elimination Shoot Out


 •   The contest consists of four individual races.

 •   Starting from a standing position at the center line, on the referee's whistle, the skater completes one lap of the arena surface. The player has the option of skating in either direction.

 •   Winners are determined by electric eyes that record time in thousandths of a second. In case of a clock malfunction, the official time will be recorded by the referee's stop watch.

 •   The player with the fastest time wins

Skater Time 
Zach Parise 14.59
Jeff Carter 14.43
Brian Campbell 14.90
Jay Bouwmeester 14.59
Mason Raymond 15.14
Andrew Cogliano 14.31
Winner: Andrew Cogliano 14.31


 •   Shooters can start their routine from anywhere in the offensive zone and have full access to the offensive Zone, including behind the net. (NHL penalty shot rules do not apply)

 •   Each skater will have one minute to take as many attempts as the player wants.

 •   The in arena and television audience will vote by mobile text message for their choice of winner. The player with the most votes wins.

Shooter Fan Vote %
Patrick Kane 6.8
Martin St. Louis 15.7
Ryan Getzlaf 11.5
Alex Kovalev 19.7
Steven Stamkos 3.5
Alex Ovechkin 42.8
Winner: Alex Ovechkin 42.8

EVENT 3 - YOUNGSTARS GAME presented by Upper Deck

 •   Nine skaters and one goalie per team. Full Rules

 •   YoungStars Rosters

  1 2 3 FINAL
Rookie YoungStars 3 4 2 9
 Sophomore YoungStars 1 3 1 5
MVP: Blake Wheeler (BOS), 3 goals

 •   The shooter has a maximum of 18 seconds to shoot up to 8 pucks in an attempt to hit each of the 4 targets.

 •   Any contact of a target by a puck that is shot is scored as a hit.  

 •   Multiple hits on the same target do not increase the shooter's score.

Qualifying Round      
Shooter Hits/Attempts Shooter Hits/Attempts
Jonathan Toews 4/8 Evgeni Malkin 4/4
Ilya Kovalchuk 3/8 Dany Heatley 4/4
Mike Modano 4/5 Marc Savard 3/8
Jarome Iginla 4/7 Tomas Kaberle 3/8
Passers   Passers  
Keith Tkachuk   Patrick Marleau  
Joe Thornton
Scott Niedermayer  

Shooter Hits/Attempts    
Evgeni Malkin 3/4    
Dany Heatley 2/4    
Winner: Evgeni Malkin 3/4  


•   A single puck is positioned on the ice 30 feet from the center of the goal. A player, starting no further than the nearest blue line, may skate towards the puck and shoot it from its positioned spot into the goal. The highest recorded shot (in mph) of two attempts will be scored.

•   Shots must be on goal to be calculated and all shots are recorded by radar in miles per hour.

Shooter MPH
Mark Streit 98.3
Shea Weber 103.4
Mike Komisarek 98.5
Vincent Lecavalier 97.0
Sheldon Souray 102.3
Zdeno Chara
Winner: Zdeno Chara
* 105.4



 •   36 shooters and four goalies.

 •   Before the competition the four goalies will conduct a random draw to determine the nine shooters that they will face in the first round.

 •   Shooters that score move on to the next round.

 •   Each scoring attempt is officiated in accordance with NHL shootout rules.

 •   The winner of the contest will be the player who scores in the final round and all the other player(s) miss.

 •   Who has the edge? 2009 participants' combined penalty shot and shootout attempt stats

Elimination Round 1  
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Jonathan Toews Save Shane Doan Goal
Zach Parise Save Dustin Brown Save
Shea Weber Save Stephane Robidas Save
Scott Niedermayer Goal Andrei Markov Save
Sheldon Souray Goal Zdeno Chara Goal
Marc Savard Goal Keith Tkachuk Save
Patrick Marleau Goal Jeff Carter Save
Dany Heatley Save Rick Nash Save
Ilya Kovalchuk Save Vincent Lecavalier Save
Goalie: Niklas Backstrom   Goalie: Henrik Lundqvist  
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Thomas Vanek Goal Eric Staal Save
Milan Hejduk Goal Mark Streit Save
Tomas Kaberle Save Brian Campbell Save
Dan Boyle Save Jay Bouwmeester Goal
Mike Komisarek Save Mike Modano Goal
Joe Thornton Save Ryan Getzlaf Goal
Jarome Iginla Save Evgeni Malkin Save
Martin St. Louis Save Alex Ovechkin Save
Patrick Kane Save Alex Kovalev Goal
Goalie: J.S. Giguere   Goalie: Tim Thomas  
Elimination Round 2  
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Goal Scott Niedermayer Goal
Sheldon Souray Save Zdeno Chara Save
Marc Savard Goal Patrick Marleau Goal
Milan Hejduk Goal Jay Bouwmeester Save
Mike Modano Save Ryan Getzlaf Goal
Alex Kovalev Save    
Elimination Round 3  
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Goal Scott Niedermayer Save
Marc Savard Goal Patrick Marleau Save
Milan Hejduk Goal Ryan Getzlaf Save
Elimination Round 4
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Save Marc Savard Save
Milan Heduk Save    
Elimination Round 5
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Save Marc Savard Save
Milan Heduk Save    
Elimination Round 6
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Goal Marc Savard Goal
Milan Heduk Save    
Elimination Round 7  
Skater Goal/Save Skater Goal/Save
Shane Doan Goal Marc Savard Save
Winner: Shane Doan