1909 - Ottawa Senators


Prior to the 1909 season Montreal's AAA and Victoria clubs, who were the last amateur teams in the ECAHA, dropped out of the league. Consequently, the league was renamed the Eastern Canada Hockey Association with "Amateur" dropped from the title.

The Ottawa Senators, formerly the Silver Seven, posted a 10-2-0 record to capture the first all-pro, ECHA championship. Ottawa, as champions of the ECHA, took over the Stanley Cup in 1909 and, although a challenge was accepted by the Cup trustees from the Winnipeg Shamrocks, games could not be arranged because of the lateness of the season. No other challenges were made in 1909.

Fred "Cyclone" Taylor, who tallied eight goals in 11 games, made his debut on a Stanley Cup championship team with the Senators.

1908-09 - Ottawa Senators - Fred Lake, Percy LeSueur, Fred (Cyclone) Taylor, Billy Gilmour, Albert (Dubbie) Kerr, Edgar Dey, Marty Walsh, Bruce Stuart (captain).



NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads