1908 (January)


The Ottawa Victorias, the latest cast of challengers, had actually finished third in the Federal Amateur Hockey League in 1907, but were awarded the league championship when the first and second place clubs - Montagnards and Cornwall - withdrew from competition. Nevertheless, Ottawa's challenge was accepted by the Cup trustees.

Ernie Russell netted 10 goals in two games, including six in the second, as Montreal easily defended the trophy.

1907-08 - Montreal Wanderers - Riley Hern, Art Ross, Walter Smaill, Frank (Pud) Glass, Bruce Stuart, Ernie Russell, Ernie (Moose) Johnson, Cecil Blachford (captain), Tom Hooper, Larry Gilmour, Ernie Liffiton, R.R. Boon (manager).


Jan. 9 Ottawa Victorias 3 at Mtl. Wanderers 9
Jan. 13 Ottawa Victorias 1 at Mtl. Wanderers 13


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads