FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Patrick TrophyLester Patrick Trophy

The Lester Patrick Trophy is an annual award presented for outstanding service to hockey in the United States. Eligible  recipients are players, officials, coaches, executives, and referees.

The winner is selected by an award committee consisting of the President of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builder's section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Player's section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters' Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Except for the League President, each member is rotated annually. The winner(s) receive a miniature of the trophy.

The Patrick Trophy was presented by the New York Rangers in 1966 to honor the late Lester Patrick. Patrick was a longtime general manager and coach of the Rangers, whose teams finished out of the playoffs only once in his first 16 years with the club.

2012 Winners:  Dick Patrick, Bob Chase-Wallenstein

Past Recipients
2011 Mark Johnson, Bob Pulford, Tony Rossi, Jeff Sauer
2010 David Andrews, Cam Neely, Jack Parker, Jerry York
2009 Mark Messier, Mike Richter, Jim Devellano
2008 Bob Naegele Jr., Brian Burke, Phil Housley, Ted Lindsay
2007 Brian Leetch, Cammi Granato, Stan Fischler, John Halligan
2006 Steve Yzerman, Gordon "Red" Berenson, Reed Larson, Glen Sonmor, Marcel Dionne
2004 Mike Emrick, John Davidson, Ray Miron
2003 Willie O'Ree, Raymond Bourque, Ron DeGregorio
2002 Herb Brooks, Larry Pleau, 1960 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team
2001 Gary Bettman, Scotty Bowman, David Poile
2000 Mario Lemieux, Craig Patrick, Lou Vairo
1999 Harry Sinden, 1998 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team
1998 Peter Karmanos, Max McNab, Neal Broten, John Mayasich
1997 Seymour H. Knox III*, Bill Cleary, Pat LaFontaine
1996 George Gund, Ken Morrow, Milt Schmidt
1995 Joe Mullen, Brian Mullen
1994 Wayne Gretzky, Robert Ridder
1993 Frank Boucher, Red Dutton, Bruce McNall, Gil Stein
1992 Al Arbour, Art Berglund, Lou Lamoriello
1991 Rod Gilbert, Mike Ilitch
1990 Len Ceglarski
1989 Dan Kelly, Lou Nanne, Lynn Patrick*, Bud Poile
1988 Keith Allen, Fred Cusick, Bob Johnson
1987 Hobey Baker*, Frank Mathers
1986 John MacInnes, Jack Riley
1985 Jack Butterfield, Arthur M. Wirtz
1984 Arthur Howie Ross*, John A. Ziegler Jr.
1983 Bill Torrey
1982 Emile P. Francis
1981 Charles M. Schulz
1980 Bobby Clarke, Frederick A. Shero, Edward M. Snider, 1980 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team
1979 Bobby Orr
1978 Philip A. Esposito, Tom Fitzgerald, William T. Tutt, William W. Wirtz
1977 Murray A. Armb, John P. Bucyk, John Mariucci
1976 George A. Leader, Stanley Mikita, Bruce A. Norris
1975 William L. Chadwick, Donald M. Clark, Thomas N. Ivan
1974 Weston W. Adams Sr.*, Charles L. Crovat*, Alex Delvecchio, Murray Murdoch
1973 Walter L. Bush
1972 Clarence S. Campbell, John Kelly, James D. Norris*, Ralph Cooney Weiland
1971 William M. Jennings, Terrance G. Sawchuk*, John B. Sollenberger*
1970 James C.V. Hendy*, Edward W. Shore
1969 Robert M. Hull, Edward J. Jeremiah*
1968 Walter A. Brown*, Gen. John R. Kilpatrick*, Thomas F. Lockhart
1967 Charles F. Adams*, Gordon Howe, James Norris Sr.*
1966 J.J. Jack Adams
* awarded posthumously


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads