We’ve updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. Continuing to use our Services on or after February 1, 2016 means that you agree to these changes, so please read them carefully.
(Page 4 of 4)
2012 NHL Awards

Campbell, Eberle, Moulson are Lady Byng finalists

Monday, 04.23.2012 / 11:00 AM / 2012 NHL Awards

Adam Kimelman - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

Brian Campbell
Defense - FLA
GOALS: 1 | ASST: 3 | PTS: 4
SOG: 8 | +/-: -2
One of the oldest adages in hockey is you can't score from the penalty box.

During the 2011-12 season, three players took that mantra particularly to heart. Florida Panthers defenseman Brian Campbell, Edmonton Oilers right wing Jordan Eberle and New York Islanders left wing Matt Moulson had outstanding seasons offensively while managing to stay far away from the penalty box. For that reason, those players have been named the finalists for this year's Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The award is given each year "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." The winner is selected by a vote of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, and will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards Show, June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

NHL names Calder Trophy finalists

Friday, 04.20.2012 / 11:00 AM / 2012 NHL Awards

Adam Kimelman - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

As more and more talented young players arrive in the NHL every season, picking the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded to "the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League" becomes increasingly difficult.

The 2011-12 season is no exception, but voting by the Professional Hockey Writers Association showed three rookies emerging above the rest.

New Jersey Devils center Adam Henrique, Colorado Avalanche left wing Gabriel Landeskog and Edmonton Oilers center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins have been named this year's finalists for the Calder Trophy.

Nickelback to perform at 2012 NHL Awards

Friday, 04.20.2012 / 9:55 AM / 2012 NHL Awards


NEW YORK -- The National Hockey League announced today that chart-topping rock band Nickelback will headline the 2012 NHL Awards -- the League's annual, post season awards show -- with two performances on Wednesday, June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

This will mark Nickelback's return engagement to NHL Awards and its first performance on the NHL's Las Vegas stage since the NHL Awards moved to the world-famous destination in 2009. The band's performance at the 2002 NHL Awards in Toronto helped launch its career as the top-selling band of the last decade.

"As die-hard hockey fans, we can never get enough of the NHL, even when we're on tour. And there is nothing more exciting for hockey fans than the Playoffs. The NHL Awards is the culmination of celebrating the best players and moments the season has produced. We're honored and humbled to perform at the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas," said Nickelback frontman Chad Kroeger.

NHL Awards finalists announcements begin Friday

Thursday, 04.19.2012 / 5:29 PM / 2012 NHL Awards


NEW YORK -- The National Hockey League will announce the three finalists for 10 regular-season awards over the next 10 days. The announcements begin tomorrow, Friday, April 20, with the top three vote-getters for the Calder Trophy, which goes to the League's top rookie.

The National Hockey League's elite will come together with celebrities from music, stage and screen for a celebration of hockey at the star-studded 2012 NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 20, from Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2012 NHL Awards will be broadcast by NBC Sports Network in the United States and CBC in Canada.

First | Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4