Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword
Round 2
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final

Crosby, Ovechkin and Tavares named finalists for Hart Memorial Trophy

Friday, 05.10.2013 / 10:15 AM / News

The Canadian Press

NEW YORK, N.Y. - The NHL is out with its finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy.

Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby, Washington's Alex Ovechkin and John Tavares of the New York Islanders are up for the award.

The Hart Trophy is awarded annually to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

Voting was done at the end of the regular season by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

The award winner will be announced during the Stanley Cup final.

Pittsburgh forward Evgeni Malkin won the Hart Trophy last year.

For me, it's a great win for our hockey team and for a lot of people back in Columbus, especially our fans in particular … people who have been devoted to this organization, it's big.

— Columbus Blue Jackets coach Todd Richards said after their 4-3 OT win vs. Pittsburgh in Game 2, the franchise's first ever Stanley Cup Playoff victory