Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword
2014 NHL Draft

NCAA team, individual honors from Frozen Four

Wednesday, 04.11.2012 / 12:19 PM / On Campus
Share with your Friends

NCAA team, individual honors from Frozen Four
NCAA team, individual honors from Frozen Four.

Fans trekked from Miami to Maine, New Orleans to North Dakota for Saturday night's NCAA championship game that saw Boston College defeat Ferris State University 4-1 to claim the title.

Here are some of the notable team and individual honors to come out of Frozen Four weekend:

The Frozen Four All-Tournament Team:

NHL.com's Top 10

1. Boston College 33-10-1
2. Ferris State 26-12-5
3. Union 26-8-7
4. Minnesota 28-14-1
5. North Dakota 26-13-3
6. Minnesota-Duluth 25-10-6
7. Michigan 24-13-4
8. Miami 24-15-2
9. Mass.-Lowell 24-13-1
10. Cornell 19-9-7

BC Forwards Steven Whitney (Reading, Mass.) and Paul Carey (Weymouth, Mass.), Ferris State forward Kyle Bonis (Lindsay, ON.), BC defenseman Brian Dumoulin (Biddeford, Maine) and Ferris State defenseman Chad Billins (Marysville, Mich.), along with BC goaltender Parker Milner, who was also voted the Most Outstanding Player for the 2012 Frozen Four.

2011-2012 NCAA Division I First All-American Teams:

From the East: Goaltender Troy Grosenick, Union College (Brookfield, WI); Defensemen Danny Biega, Harvard University (Montreal) and Brian Dumoulin, Boston College (Biddeford, ME); Forwards Spencer Abbott; University of Maine (Hamilton, ON), Alex Killorn, Harvard University (Montreal), Austin Smith, Colgate University (Dallas, TX)

From the West: Goaltender Taylor Nelson, Ferris State University (Regina, SK); Defensemen Torey Krug, Michigan State University (Livonia, MI) and Justin Schultz, University of Wisconsin (West Kelowna, BC); Forwards Jack Connolly, University of Minnesota-Duluth (Duluth, MN), Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College (Wilcox, SK), Reilly Smith, Miami University (Mimico, ON)

Unsung Hero Award: Prior to Saturday's championship game, the Hockey Commissioners' Association named Brown University senior forward and North Andover, Mass., native Bobby Farnham the recipient of the sixth annual Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award.

The award was established by the HCA in honor of former Army player Derek Hines, who was a "consummate team player and team builder." Hines played at Army from 1999-2003 and was a four-year letter-winner as well as a co-captain his senior season. He was killed in the line of duty in Afghanistan in September 2006.

Quote of the Day

We want to make sure that whoever makes our team really makes our team by earning it and not putting them in situations where they get preference because of their status as a first-round pick or whatever it might be. That's not going to happen. Everybody has to earn their way on our team.

— Columbus Blue Jackets general manager Jarmo Kekalainen on the team's prospects at development camp